This will be obvious... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2005, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Question This will be obvious...

I know I have A LOT to learn!!! but I'm going to ask this anyway...

I understand the premise behind all the benchmarks and OCing, but where does one FIND all the programs to do all of it with??

As always... Forever curious,

Nuke
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 10:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Overclocking is something you do in your BIOS
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

which can be done in windows, but it is better to do it in the bios.

3dmark aqua mark are bench test programs.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

trifid ... i like the sig picture but you should probably change the font a bit :|
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Yea, but I see pics with all these different windows. So what I see is all from bios? I have seen those windows before... messed with them MANY times, but these I see look like window's based type windows. ??? Maybe it's just me being brain-dead right now... who knows...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 240
Default

you dont need to OC in the BIOS, If you have a motherboard made by MSI you can download "MSI fuzzy Logic v4" and OC with that. its the simplest way.
__________________
Cure for Boredom
bigbmxdave is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Yea, but I see pics with all these different windows. So what I see is all from bios? I have seen those windows before... messed with them MANY times, but these I see look like window's based type windows. ??? Maybe it's just me being brain-dead right now... who knows...
Yeah those are benching programs like sisoftware sandra or SuperPI, some are CPU-Z which is showing details of your CPU and what HTT or FSB you used with what multiplier.

Don't OC within windows. It's the laziest and worst way to OC unless you absolutely have no other option.

Overclocking within the BIOS is the way to go for safety reasons and you'll learn more IMO. Graphics cards are the only thing you have to OC within windows.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 04:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Or if you have the socket 754 system download Core Center for the MSI boards... It controls the Voltages and HTT....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 08:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Right now I have a Socket 478 3.4 Prescott... Not bad, but I'm starting to get interested in all the OC, but I want to learn as much first... I'm not like you guys and made of money!

Thanks though, for the info...

Nuke
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 09:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well bios is the best on startup press delete f1 or somewhere around that
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.