Will my PSU power all of this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2005, 02:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default Will my PSU power all of this?

+12V 20A
+5V 50A
+3.3V 28A
-5V 0.5A
-12V 0.8A
+5V/SB 2.0A
450 Watts


I have:
Intel 2.53 GHz
WD 60GB HD
2 Optical Drives
Floppy Drive
2 120mm Fans, 1 80mm Fan, 1 Zalman Heatsink/Fan
6600GT
IOMagic Typoon Audio card
2 512MB sticks of ram

All running on an Albatron 865PE Pro mainboard. I know 20A on the main rail sucks balls but I just dont have the 100 dollars or however much it costs to get a good PSU.

My question to you is: Is 20A enough to successfully power these things up without any problems? I'll let you know myself in a few days when newegg ships but Im worried that the power supply that came with my case cant handle it.
__________________

Its a Me Mario is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 03:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

definately!
20A is more than enough for what you have
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 03:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Phew. My sources are stupid then. The PSU 101 at computerforums.com says you have to have a minimum of 24A on the 12V rail and I was like nooooooo this cant be! I geuss I got one hell of a deal on newegg. A slick well ventilated case and a PSU that wasnt total crap for less than 80 dollars. Hooray for me.

I was looking at PSUs just in case, man the $100+ power supplies suck just as bad as the 30 dollar ones. It was confusing to see a 130 dollar PSU with the same 12V rail as a cheap "crappy" one.
Its a Me Mario is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

The more expensive ones are sometimes built better.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

SHIIIIIITTTTTT!! 20A on the 12v suck balls????!!!!??? whoa they are some dumb ****s then cause i got more, ALOT MORE, than that on a 13v rail and it works fine! you got more than enough man, be proud and loud. ok that was stupid but im tired but the stuff is true.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

My 12v has 28amps
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

no need for bragging............
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

:-p its just a crappy ultra psu, not that x connect but its a nice one, once i find my camera ill take pics of it.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

it still has a **** load of amps on the rail though man. makes mine look like a toy. phssht 13 amps (runs and kicks raidmax psu......................ooops that was the only one i got lol)
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

You've probably got the exact same case as i do since i had the exact same PSU till i had to get this new one.......
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.