Will minimal power management screw my cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2006, 10:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default Will minimal power management screw my cpu?

I went to my motherboard manual to see how I could get cooler temperatures and it said to ensure cool n quiet is working, set the power options to minimal power management. Now my fan speed has gone way down and so has my MHz(from 2000 to 1000 for my 3800 amd 64). My temperatures have also gone way down. Is this okay? What do you guys recommend?


EDIT: I also want to make sure it will be okay like this during gaming.
__________________

Winner is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Well of course you'r temps went much lower, and so did the noise, because you lowerd the core volt of the cpu and also lowerd the CPU clock speed which will decrease the performence in everything, thus the cpu generates LESS heat which is good if you can stand the decrease in performenec, most of us here won't.

and the noise has gone down because now the fan is less needed because the cpu produces less heat since you lowerd its voltage and clock.


But no, this won't harm you'r CPU in any ways, actualy it will extend its life time, lol.
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Does the cpu clock speed pick up during games?
Winner is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

I believe not... but maybe, it depends how does you'r mobo works, some mobos has min power managment that does increase voltage and cpu clock when the cpu is under load, some are not so automatic and just permanently lower everything.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 10:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Okay, I thought cool n quiet did adjust but I'm not sure.
Winner is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 03:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

i read, in another thread recently posted (i believe it was in building high speed comps section) that the cool'n quite will run your cpu back at higherspeed when it is needed (like for games)
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 05:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

I believe you have to configure it in your BIOS to pick up speed when temperatures reach a certain point. I personally suggest running it on max without cool n' quiet. Might as well have your PC as cool as it can be, unless the noise is bothering you that much.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 05:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

heres an easier way to find out---check you'r motherboards manual.
Yoad is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 06:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Everything picks up when it's needed. BTW your CPU should be running at 2.4GHz stock, not 2GHz.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.