will i need a new power supply... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2005, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default will i need a new power supply...

in the near future...about a month...i'm gonna get a new graphics card...probably a 9800pro because the price fits my broke *** wallet cause of college and only a weekend job..and my obsession with beer.....though cuttin' back on the beer i have been doing! oh ya!

i have a 350watt right now and runnin with no problems what so ever:

athlon 64 2800+
3 hard drives (IDE)
1 cd burner (IDE)
3 case fans
1 floppy
and a partrige in a pair tree.....oh wait.....

if i get the card, i'm going to discontinue a HD and just throw that stuff onto my main, until even later down the road i invest in SATA.

will this be a problem power wize?
i'd hate to have to invest in that also....
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I would recommend that you do, the 9800 Pro takes it own molex connector from the PSU, and combine that with a Athlon 64 which demands high current on the 12v rail, and you may run into some problems.

Better safe than sorry.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

I personally think that you'll be fine with that.. pushing it, but you should be fine. Since this psu you have already is probably the crap one that came with the case, I'm worried the rails will be unbalanced once you do get the card.

You should download asus probe or something else that watches the psu rails. When you do get the card, just check to see that all the rails are about what they should be, if so you should do alright.

*edit* actually the 64b chips require less voltage
Demalii is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 287
Default

Yes get a 500 watt or above, that should last you for a while.
__________________
\"Today\'s scientists have substituted mathematics for experiments, and they wander off through equation after equation, and eventually build a structure which has no relation to reality.\" Nikola Tesla
gab00n is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 06:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Demalii
You should download asus probe or something else that watches the psu rails. When you do get the card, just check to see that all the rails are about what they should be, if so you should do alright.
i haev a gigabyte motherboard...it wouldn't work would it?
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default

yeah u shud get easytune with ur mobo cd!!
__________________

ardy89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.