Will it get me to 3.0Ghz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2007, 07:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

G-skill
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
a
E6320
and
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3
__________________

raiders_best is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

Shouldn't be too difficult. I have the E6300, and I can hit 3Ghz, but it is hard and needs very high voltages. My motherboard is 975X chipset. The 965P can hit much higher FSB.

I am currently running 2.94GHz. Memory at 420MHz. To hit 3.00 I would have to lower my mem to be stable, even though my mem is PC2-7200 (450MHz).
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

You should be able to hit it easy, with aftermarket cooling.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

should be to hard like people said, just get a tuniq tower, zalman or thermalright ultra 120 with artic silver. then u might get more too like 3.2
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 09:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

Yes you should be able to hit 3.0ghz with not much trouble at all...as stated you will just need a cheap aftermarket cooler. I suggest the Arctic Freezer Pro 7 for 20-25 bucks. Don't get one on the egg though.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 09:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

Don't forget the Scythe Mine.
Only reason I am on 3.25 Ghz instead of 3.42 or even higher is because SMP Folding Errors out or causes restart at those higher settings.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

How cheap is the scythe Mine? I mean the Arctic Freezer Pro 7 can keep a CPU under 60 degree with like 1.46 Vcore.. that's amazing for a 20 buck cooler.

I'm at 3.22ghz becuase I have a wall somewhere lol...I have it on 1.43 Vcore and max loads of like 55.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

31 Bucks when I bought it.

I just didn't like the look of the artic cooler.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 10:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

Oh then thats not too bad. Yea your right the look really isn't the best but I mean a cooler that cheap you can't expect it to look like the Zalman either heh.

Also my rig isn't the prettiest it's just nice enough for me :P
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-12-2007, 11:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Re: Will it get me to 3.0Ghz

I tried to OC my e6300, it booted at 2.4, then wouldn't boot any higher, and reset my settings, and wouldn't work at 2.4 anymore. I had the vcore at 1.4 something, and was a little afraid of pushing it too far. SO basically, i got scared and quit, lol, this computer is my baby.
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me reach 3.0ghz AMDSCOrPiO Overclocking and Modding 9 04-30-2007 11:47 AM
Seeking 3.0GHz or greater Pentium 4 478... firemandave Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 04-10-2007 04:35 PM
E6600 3.0Ghz OCing HELP wongb18c Overclocking and Modding 2 04-07-2007 11:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.