Why I Overclock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2007, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Why I Overclock

It has been a trend in in the world of computer technology that as hardware capability increases the computational demand of the programs we run scales. Ever notice it takes the same amount of time to start a Windows Vista Ult machine running an e6600 as it does for a Windows 95 machine sporting an Athlon 450mhz processor? The simple fact is that as the hardware can handle more, the software has more to handle, in essence thing never become faster. When the worlds first CentiCore processor is released Windows Galactica will come out and I will still be waiting 5 minutes for my machine to start. Sure, by the year 2015 my FPS in CSS will be in the millions but I bet I will only get 45-50 fps in the latest first person shooter. It all comes down to relativity, relative to an older machine it new computers are much faster, but when compared to the scaling computational demand they are just as slow as ever. Which leads me to why I overclock. I overclock because it gets me above that proverbial rut in technology progression. When I overclock I accelerate myself into a echelon of performance that, in theory, doesn't even exist yet. Is there any greater feeling than knowing you have surpassed the bell curve, than knowing for a fact that in one way you are better than the majority? I feel that by pushing the limit I help accelerate the human race into an amazingly untold future of advancement.

/salute to all my comrades who join me in this noble crusade to excel.
__________________

__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Why I Overclock

i overclock to give out more juice than the systems is already giving me , i dont know what kind of wild imagination you have but sure i agree
__________________

SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: Why I Overclock

I've OCed because it's always fun to see what your system can handle. And get the bang for your bucks you just put out
pylon567 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Why I Overclock

i do it because i like to squeeze performance out of everything...wether it be cpus, ram, cars, tools, girls...lol.
plus its nice to have a rig, as quazibee says, that puts you above the basic curve of computer users. i dont want to say that we are better, or smarter...but well, we are!
p.s. quazibee thanks for that quick books advice as far as the hdd transfer that you gave me last week. went off without a hitch and the moms smokin new office rig is on the prowl...lol check out these specs:

abit kn9 nf4 ultra am2 mobo
x2 4200 windsor
2gb gskill hz
fortron 400w psu
evga 7300gs
lg super-multi dvd burner
wd 160gb hdd
70gb dell POS hdd that will be wiped for backup storage soon
centurion 5 case (no window).

suh-weet. my moms office computer, lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Why I Overclock

Why not just run Windows 95 over Vista and save yourself some $$$?

Or, move to linux.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 08:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Why I Overclock

i know how you feel! it sure makes me think "IM THE GOD!" when everyone else is meandering along on a single core and im on a dual core over clocked. even though my mates dont play games, it gives my ego a boost to know my rigs streets ahead of theirs lol.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 10:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: Why I Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i do it because i like to squeeze performance out of everything...wether it be cpus, ram, cars, tools, girls...lol.
plus its nice to have a rig, as quazibee says, that puts you above the basic curve of computer users. i dont want to say that we are better, or smarter...but well, we are!
p.s. quazibee thanks for that quick books advice as far as the hdd transfer that you gave me last week. went off without a hitch and the moms smokin new office rig is on the prowl...lol check out these specs:

abit kn9 nf4 ultra am2 mobo
x2 4200 windsor
2gb gskill hz
fortron 400w psu
evga 7300gs
lg super-multi dvd burner
wd 160gb hdd
70gb dell POS hdd that will be wiped for backup storage soon
centurion 5 case (no window).

suh-weet. my moms office computer, lol.
You just made my day man. Your mom should start playing some BF2142 at work!
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 11:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Why I Overclock

on a 7300gs? lol
overclocking almost a whold GHZ higher makes you feel good about yourself, while others are on there 3.2 single cores and made fun of my 2.6 dual, now what hardy-har!
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Why I Overclock

I OC'ed cause you people told me too
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: Why I Overclock

I overclock because I'm bored.
__________________

__________________

decibaL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change of plans.. I'm going Q6600 and possibly overclock Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 08-08-2007 12:26 PM
Safe overclock speed? Haoming Overclocking and Modding 6 08-01-2007 12:20 AM
wanting to overclock my E6420 Snake64_009 Overclocking and Modding 12 07-16-2007 03:43 AM
ATi x1950xt overclock....? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-14-2007 03:13 PM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.