Why dual monitors? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default Why dual monitors?

i see a good bit of people who buy dual dvi GPU's so they can use 2 monitors. Why? i don't undertand what difference that would make.
__________________

spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 04:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default Re: Why dual monitors?

Quote:
Originally posted by spartan1121
i see a good bit of people who buy dual dvi GPU's so they can use 2 monitors. Why? i don't undertand what difference that would make.
Well, most graphics cards come with 2 DVI ports anyway. Also, some people like to have 2 monitors hooked up to have more desktop space.
__________________

Erich K is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

wait so it uses the two monitors and widens your usble space? i would think they just show the same thing but it takes it as an extension onto what the first monitor shows?
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 149
Default

yea its nice to have lots of space for graphic design and audio recording programs.
__________________
Opteron 165 oc 2.7
eVGA 7800 GT
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
1GB OCZ Enhanced Latency (2 x 512MB)
Antec TP-II (550w)
Scythe Ninja
macombaland is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

They can show the same thing, but they can also not. The left monitor, you can drag windows and stuff onto the right one and vise versa. Have a video in fullscreen on one, and still work on the other.
The General is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

Yeah Its super handy when b/s/t on this forum while playing oblivion. Ive recently tryed to do 2 gc (as ive posted somewhere) so that i could have 4 monitors it works but is buggy when playing games ( 6200, 6800GT)
harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

I use dual CRTs. adn if you ve ever used them, you can tell how much easier it is. I am able to keep winamp, tirllian, and system monitors on my left monitor, while keeping all the real estate free on my primary monitor for word, excel, firefox, games, etc.

It REALLY helps when I need multiple information, like entering infor on a form online, I can look at one scrren then the other instead of having to close my windows. Also, when I write my papers, I have my research on one monitor and the paper Im writing on the other. It helps from having to move around and lose my thought in trying to switch programs, especially is something is tking forever to load.

I know it sounds weird but it is REALLY usefull
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

have we inspired you to try it?
harley3344 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 05:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

yeah i might try it, a nearby compu-help guy said there was a place selling good quality crt monitors for as low as $25, only problem is im not sure if ill have enough space on my desk, it's a lreadt pretty crouded, and the monitor im getting is wide screen too. But since it's an LCD it wont take up a terrible amount of room, and i could put the things like my modem router tv tuner and circuit protector behind it.
but i think most of the cards im looking into are dual dvi, do they make crt's with dvi? I could put my computer on the floor next to my desk, but that wont show off the LED's very well. But if i put it on the right side of the deskn i risk it falling(i would scream like a girl). So im not sure, maybe ill take a pic for you guys and you can give me suggestions.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

^ you would only scream?, if my computer fell I would cry
__________________

__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.