Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2009, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

Why would these not be the same? Bio-watch seems to always be about 10c below CoreTemps all the time.

link: http://i358.photobucket.com/albums/o...-evo/temps.jpg

Image:
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 10:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

Sensors can be off sometimes depending on the program. Like if you were to put in Everest or RivaTuner in there to compare they wouldn't all be the same. It's all in the coding of the software. If you want to check true temperature check it in the bio's thats usually the best place to look
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 11:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

bios is the most reliable.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

How can I check bios when I am trying to test temps during full load?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

let your system cool down a bit Go into bios and check the temp for an idle temp. Then check that idle temp against one of your programs. which ever is the closest use that one.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

ok thanks. I am pretty sure the Bio-watch is correct. Because typically when I see idle temps in CoreTemps they always seemed high to me from what I did see in bios but I never looked closely.

This is good news so far.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-04-2009, 12:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

from what i've heard though the bios is actually closer to full load temps..

someone might be able to shed more light on the situation though..
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 04:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

BIOS is ****!! thats really all there is to say... stop glorifying the BIOS! it reads the temp from a thermistor located either just below or to the side of the socket, which means you wont get a true die temp reading (usually 5-10C lower than the actual temp)... BIOWatch will give you the temps from the BIOS (BIOS -> BIOWatch... making any sense?)... CoreTemp reads the temp off the circuit within the die, which means you WILL get a true representation of the actual CPU temp...

CoreTemp is RIGHT!

bottom line: get CoreTemp 0.99.3... its a tiny app that will allow you to properly interpret your CPU temp and VID through a very simple GUI
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

well that makes sense. Thanks Bong.

I ordered the contact core freezer yesterday. I'm hoping it really is much better then the artic cooler that I have now, as every one states. On full load I am getting up to 75c right now and idle temps around 39-40.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 02:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Why does Bio-Watch and Coretemps show different temps???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BongWizard View Post
BIOS is ****!! thats really all there is to say... stop glorifying the BIOS! it reads the temp from a thermistor located either just below or to the side of the socket, which means you wont get a true die temp reading (usually 5-10C lower than the actual temp)... BIOWatch will give you the temps from the BIOS (BIOS -> BIOWatch... making any sense?)... CoreTemp reads the temp off the circuit within the die, which means you WILL get a true representation of the actual CPU temp...

CoreTemp is RIGHT!

bottom line: get CoreTemp 0.99.3... its a tiny app that will allow you to properly interpret your CPU temp and VID through a very simple GUI


At idle, Coretemp usually tells me <20*C.

Core center is usually about 8*C lower than BIOS temps.

So, if you want to believe that my CPU is running at 16-18*C idle, go for it.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.