why cant i OC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 08:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default why cant i OC

ok, so i have oc by 20%, it was a bit confusing as i didnt see any of the stuff to adjust that you guys are always talimg about, instaed it was pretty simple, there was just a drop down bar, with lots of persentages to choose from, so far ive done it by 20%, (600mhz, up to 3.4 ghz) and my cpu is only 19c idle, for some reason, but i cant OC any more when i go for 30% the screen goes black, its still on but when i press the reset/ on button nothing happens, and i have to turn it off at the back, then when it boots up it says 'overclocking failed'........any ideas?

thanks
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

You overclocked it too much, and it went unstable. I'm not much into overclocking, but either the voltage is too low of that high of an OC, or the temp what ever program you're using is reporting is in accurate, which wouldn't be surprising, thats an unusually low temp for a stock processor, let alone an OC'd one.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Your CPU is not 19C idle unless your ambient room temperature is 15C or below...it is impossible for an air cooler to keep the CPU below ambient room temperature and the CPU will always be at least a few degrees warmer than the ambient temperature regardless of how good your cooler is...your temperature probe is out of whack

Second...you need to ditch the GUI Windows overclocking and do stuff through the BIOS...increase FSB by increments of 5 or 10 depending on your multiplier...lock your PCI at 33MHz, AGP at 66MHz or PCI-E at 100MHz...run a memory divider...and run prime95 for a few minutes before going any further, if you run into instability issues, you need to increase vcore

Overclocking ->
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

listen to gaara he knows what he is talking about. couldn't agree more, ditch the GUI and go into the BIOS. unless your living in some pretty high lattitudes 19c for a prescott p4 is absolutely fuxored, i don't think a prescott will go that low on water cooling.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

yea i did adjust it in the bios, thats where the drop down thigy was, acording to pc wizard it said my cpu was 19c, having plaid bf2 it says its got up to 29c, and what should i do if my temp probe is out, how do i fix that? how can i get a more acurate reading?
harry18 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 12:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if the probe is damaged there is not much you can do, see if you can get some different monitoring software. if it's only 29c on the stock air cooler something is seriously f*****d up. if you're going to overclock i'd go out and buy an aftermarket cooler and some as5, take it back to stock speeds before removing the stock hsf and record the average idle and load temps. install the new cooler and record the averages at stock so that you at least have a scale of temps. you should get an aftermarket cooler to err on the side of caution
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

can you please post your specs so we can see what you're working with
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok, this stuff is BRAND new:

asus p4p800se mobo
1gb geil ram
antec 500w smart power psu
big antec case
heatsink and fan

the stuff i alredy had:
p4 2.8ghz cpu......at 3.4g now
radeon 9700 pro
hdd, drives ect
harry18 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

If your processor is a northwood you should be ok to raise voltage but if you have a prescott I'd look into getting some aftermarket cooling especially since you don't know the temperature

Look in the BIOS for options to change the FSB speed and vcore/CPU VID...you may also be overclocking your ram so I suggest you run dividers or start loosening timings...you need to run prime95 every time you increase the clockspeed and increase vcore as it fails
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 03:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

ok, im doing the prime 95 think, ive looked round my bios but cant find any options to change the fsb?
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.