why am I scoring so low on 3d 05? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 07:22 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No way you got 5950 with your GT at stock (which I realize is the BFG version which comes pre-oc'd but it's only 20MHz so that's not like a HUGE difference)

But look at your sig, you have 1gb of PC3200 RAM I have the same, 2.4GHz Intel, I have a 2.5GHz AMD which is more powerful than a 2.4GHz especially in gaming, and I also have a 6800GT, so our systems are almost the same, and this is the highest I've gotten:

416/1175 6800GT - DDR400 - 2.6GHz - 71.84 - 5635 - 3dmark05

And that's well beyond Ultra speeds.

So I'm trying to figure out how you'd get 5900 with a CPU not as powerful, the same amount of RAM running the same speeds and a 6800GT running at a lower clock speed unless like I said you had it overclocked, but still, it would have to be clocked well beyond mine.

Oh, just now noticed your Intel is at 2.6GHz but still a 2.5GHz AMD would still be able to process better....

Did you have your GT uber overclocked or something and what drivers were you using?

As you can see I was using the 71.84 in that test, I've only tried 71.89 with 400/1100 which yielded 5376
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:32 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

the bfg card was not overclocked, but now that you remind me, i may have had my processor overclocked to 3.0 ghz at the time of that test, so there you go. It proved to be unstable however so i dropped it down.
__________________

espeed is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:37 PM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Still, I got 57xx (i think close to 5800) at 425/1100 and CPU at 3.7GHz. If that score is right, good for you, but it does seem suspiciously high :amazed:
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 07:51 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

even at 3GHz dude, it wouldn't be faster than a 2.5GHz AMD more than likely, especially like I said at gaming.



That's my bench in sandra with my AMD at 2.7GHz which is comparable to a 3.8GHz Intel in some areas, so I know at 2.5GHz it's still not going to justify that huge *** score, when my 6800GT was OC'd beyond Ultra speeds and my CPU either equal to or better than yours even at 3GHz......

and on top of that you said your card was not OC'd, and a stock 6800GT gets around 4900 or so, with your BFG being 370 perhaps 5000, but 3dmark05 is all GPU oriented, not so much CPU, so even if you were at 2.5 then 3GHz it wouldn't make a huge difference in score.

Look at idiotecs, his setup is definitely more powerful than both of ours, and his 6800GT is OC'd to Ultra specs and he got 5800.....
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 08:10 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

well Ill run another one when i get home and let you know.
espeed is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:46 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

hahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahaha
__________________
My new puter

Athlon XP-M 2500+ AQYHA
Abit NF7-S
512mb HyperX
6600GT XFX
Antec superlanboy
420W Thermaltake PSU
Lite-On combo CDRW-DVD drive

3dmark 05: 3091
3dmark 03: 7589
bunnymanboy is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:10 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

someone tell a joke? :freak:
espeed is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 01:13 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol yeah kinda wonderin the same thing
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:43 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

funny hahahahahahaha
__________________
My new puter

Athlon XP-M 2500+ AQYHA
Abit NF7-S
512mb HyperX
6600GT XFX
Antec superlanboy
420W Thermaltake PSU
Lite-On combo CDRW-DVD drive

3dmark 05: 3091
3dmark 03: 7589
bunnymanboy is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 09:41 PM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

oh yes, i see what all the laughter is about now, its your 3d mark scores, hahahaha......kidding, no offense.
__________________

espeed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.