Where do you see the performance results of OC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2009, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Where do you see the performance results of OC?

I'm just curious. The reason I ask is for about two months I had my q6600 OC to 3.0. To be honest I really never saw any performance increase. Maybe I need to pull out a stop watch and see if I shaved a few tenths of load times for opening apps or loading a game?

As a matter of fact when I used winrar to unrar a file typically the screen that pops up asking me where I want to put the file would lag. It took a few moments to load the other HDD and such. As soon as I put it back to stock settings, 2.4GHz that problem went away.

It's like my PC actually runs better stock.

So where can I see the results? Other then a 3Dmark score??? Heck I think my computer even boots faster on stock.
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

It really depends what you are doing. What games have you been playing? What do you normally do on your computer? If you are just doing general things, and playing non-cutting edge games then you might as well keep it on stock.

For most people, overclocking an already high end processor is pointless. It's not like you are going to see an increase in fluidness when your desktop experience is already perfect.
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 05:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

When an overclock seems to perform slower or worst than stock speeds, it's sometimes a sign of an unstable overclock.
Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

sure I play Crysis WH, FEAR 2, GTA4. I don't really think my cpu OC would make these games perform better? Maybe loading times but not actual game play.

I just thought OC would result in some pretty noticeable differences and I don't see that. Not on my PC and not on a buddies, which he has same cpu at 3.4 GHz
Chad711 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

You won't notice much with one a few hundred mhz worth of difference.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xandubomb View Post
When an overclock seems to perform slower or worst than stock speeds, it's sometimes a sign of an unstable overclock.
You know that is my thoughts as well. However it's hard to point where it's unstable. I believe that is the case. But when my temps are low and I have upped the volts where needed where is this unstable problem at?
Chad711 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

It could be ram, and as the cpu runs at a higher and higher freq, the colder the processor needs to be to run stable -- but since you are only doing it a few hundred mhz that probably isn't an issue. It very well could be that your processor is just not lucky and you can't squeeze much out of it.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

I find a huge diference in load times, but as you noticed, not in game.

I have recently found, my everyday stable oc, really wasn't when i started folding. I had to up my vcore by 0.07Vs from 1.30 to 1.376 to run 24/7 at any load.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 06:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
You know that is my thoughts as well. However it's hard to point where it's unstable. I believe that is the case. But when my temps are low and I have upped the volts where needed where is this unstable problem at?
You should run a stability test. Get this program called OCCT 3.0. And run it for an hour.
Download - OCCT Website english
Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 11:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Where do you see the performance results of OC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad711 View Post
You know that is my thoughts as well. However it's hard to point where it's unstable. I believe that is the case. But when my temps are low and I have upped the volts where needed where is this unstable problem at?
Run a stress testing program. Intel Burn test is the best, it is what Intel uses to make sure their chips are good before they ship them. If you get errors then you are unstable.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA or ATI? SEE RESULTS! SirCyber Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 10-15-2008 11:47 AM
Vista SP1 Performance and Tuning, Courtesy of Microsoft KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-30-2008 06:47 PM
Half Life 2: Episode 2 Quick Performance Preview Osiris PC Gaming 4 10-10-2007 04:13 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.