When should i build? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2005, 10:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea thats what i got, i got it run to 2.4ghz on stock cooling
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 01:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

sounds good. But i still would like to know how much money i might save if i wait. Would it be more than 100 bucks?
__________________

tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 11:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

if you get the 3200 instead of the 3400 you might save like 20 bux?
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:36 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

What if I wait until july or august to build the whole thing? How much do you think I might save then?
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Probobly like 200 bucks overall
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 03:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

Also...when i actually build my computer should i spend another 15 bucks for an antistatic wristband or are there other ways to get around static?
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 03:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

Yes. Do get a antistatic wrist band. I would rather pay a couple of bucks not to kill some 200 dollar piece hardware or something. I'm sure you can get it cheaper somewheres else to.
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 05:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

if you dont get one, you can always touch a metal bar or something metal b4 you handle any computer parts. its always better to be safe then sorry
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 05:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

I put my whole rig together on the short stack carpet without any form of antistatic and everything runs perfectly so I don't think it's that important at least.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 07:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

have you guys ever had any problems with keys/mouse? because my keys/mouse are pretty cheap and i was wondering if i would have any problems with them.
__________________

__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.