Whats wrong with my computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2004, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Angry Whats wrong with my computer?

1 month ago I recieved a new laptop. It is a hp pavillion zx5000. Lately the computer has just been restarting on its own. It pisses me off to no end. I spend 1 thousand dollars and this is what I get. I thought it was an overheating problem, so I got an Antec Notebook Cooler. It seemed to work for awile, but the laptop has started to do this again. The computer is on a flat surface, and it looks like it is well cooled. Does anyone have any ideas? Am I doing anything wrong here. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

Stang03 is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

your laptop straight away restart or prompt out message that showing will restart on 1 min?
If got prompt out message saying that will restart on 1 min, thats mean your OS got blaster, u have to download patch file.
If the laptop just restart while using without any notice, they might be hardware problem, perhap driver problem. Pls list down your laptop specs.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 04:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

If this were a desktop computer I would immediately suggest power supply, but i'm not totally sure laptop power supplies work the same way. Yeah, you may have got blaster. Download your latest Windows updates.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Some new info. It usually only does it when I start my computer up. It restarts once and then it seems fine. I just downloaded the Windows Updates. So we'll see if that works out.

BTW my specs are:

HP Pavillion zx5000
Celeron (R) CPU 2.80 GHz
512MB of RAM

EDIT: Also, right before it restarts I get a blue screen that says something like "Windows has to shut down to prevent damages." but it dissapears so soon I can only read that line.
Stang03 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 04:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

ahhh thats the hardware thing u add anything to it l8tly?
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 04:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC
Default

could it be that the computer was just not put together right in the first place, or rattled during shipping? Its what, a month old?
__________________
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**
1 GB CORSAIR RAM**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Ok, I got a chance to view the error message. It told me that it had somthing to do with the driver. I searched google and tried to find some results for " My computer keeps restarting on its own" Amazingly I found people with the same problem as me except instead on saying how they fixed it they just stated that it had been fixed. Any ideas?
Stang03 is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 03:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC
Default

maybe you could pm them or email them asking them how they fixed it
__________________
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**
1 GB CORSAIR RAM**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 10:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I also get this. But I have no idea whats causing it. http://oca.microsoft.com/en/Response.asp?SID=11
Stang03 is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default

I get BANG SAME problem, and am looking for a solution, none the wiser, same as you at the moment but whats baffling is:

Nice hard surface used on
Both fans OK
HD seems OK etc...

Then no matter what im in or what im doing, a reset with a blue screen lasting 0.5seconds or something. My specs are:

HPzx5000
P4 3.2Gig
512MB ram
Radeon 9200 (64MB)
Windows XP Pro (i put this on myself).

Any help much appreciated, also if i know i will endeavour to also post a solution.

Thanks
__________________

billbeever is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.