Whats the ultra in the nforce4 ultra? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2005, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default Whats the ultra in the nforce4 ultra?

whats the ultra compared to the regular nforce 4? The reason I ask is because I was looking at boards at newegg, and they have the abit an8 with just the nforce 4, for $144, and they have the dfi ultra d lanparty with the nforce 4 ultra for $147. I would rather go with the abit, because they seem more newbie friendly, but I was curious what the ultra is about
__________________

stevedub is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Just the designation. No difference.

EDIT

Thats wrong. There is a difference.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

sorry for being a newb, but what is the designation?
stevedub is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Sorry, I was wrong. There is a difference.

The nForce4 Ultra and nForce4 are two different chipsets. Ultra supports 3 GB SATAII, while the standard supports only 1.5 SATA. Also, Ultra supports a 1 GHz Hypertransport. Much better than the standard.

Go for the DFI. For three bucks, its worth having to learn a little.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

hehe ya, best way to learn is to get tossed in the fire I think I will go with the lan party, since I see a lot of people recamend it as well. Thanks for the reply,
stevedub is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 06:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

DFI may have a steeper learning curve for manually doing things, but it seems worth it
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 06:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The RAM timings are the only part that most will be confused instantly when they look at it. Other than that, most every other option will be the same.

Also with the DFI Nforce4 Ultra board, you can mod it to a SLI board by penciling in one resistor on the chipset
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 11:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 158
Default

hehe how do you go about doing that?
stevedub is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 05:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=2322&p=2

Check it out, one little resistor, they used conductive paint, and boom! You got a SLI board
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.