Whats the difference 939 - AM2? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 05:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default Whats the difference 939 - AM2?

Whats the difference between a 939 AMD 4800 vs a AM2 AMD 4800 ?

Is it just socket sizes or what performance difference do you get?

Which is better?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there is apparently a very slight performance advantage to AM2. in my humble opinion if you think your next upgrade will be a full system upgrade i.e. buying a new pc, then you may as well stick to s939. if however you think you are likely to just upgrade your processor along the way AM2 will be the only choice. there is not a particularly great difference between the two.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 09:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

The main difference is, S939 uses DDR RAM, and AM2 uses DDR2 RAM.

That's the only difference I can see...
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 09:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

what about the sockets? from what i understand a AM2 is a socket 940, so that means that it has one more pin than a 939, so i been thinkin that theoretically a 939 would work with a AM2, but ive already heard people say no. what makes it so the 939 wont work on an AM2?

o yea, dosent am2 have higher fsb?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 09:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

AM2 has Quad core support.
__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 04:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

DDR2 and the fact that 939 will stop soon. Support for Quad Core processors, and most newer products, and last time I read anything the DDR3 sticks may, MAY be backwards compatable with the DDR2 slots, just not the processors... Another rumor I have heard is theres going to be a socket AM3 which will have full support for DDR3 and will work with AM2 motherboards. Not sure if it is true, as I have said, it is rumor.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
what about the sockets? from what i understand a AM2 is a socket 940, so that means that it has one more pin than a 939, so i been thinkin that theoretically a 939 would work with a AM2, but ive already heard people say no. what makes it so the 939 wont work on an AM2?

o yea, dosent am2 have higher fsb?
different pin location, so no it will not work
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

Hmm so alot of things in the future will be AM2 and have better ram? If so how much better is the ram compared to 939's ram?
__________________
AMD X2 4200 + Zalman 9500
Asus A8R32 MVP Deluxe Motherboard
eVga 7900Gt Ko + Vf700 @ 600/1620
SB X-Fi XtremeMusic + Klipsch PM 5.1
Thermaltake ToughPower 750w Modular
Seagate Barracude SataIII 250Gb
Samsung/Lite On Dvd/Cd RW
NEC 20WMGX 20\'1 WideScreen
Logitech G15
Logitech Mx518
ThermalTake Tsunami Case

http://s141.photobucket.com/albums/r58/lvlarvin/
Jayvon is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 06:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well i think they've already shown increased bandwidth.. but ddr2 ram as you know..... is not cheap... which sucks
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 07:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
what about the sockets? from what i understand a AM2 is a socket 940, so that means that it has one more pin than a 939, so i been thinkin that theoretically a 939 would work with a AM2, but ive already heard people say no
no DDR2 support on S939 IMCs, therefore even if it could be jammed in the socket the memory would prevent it from working
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.