whats better as a primary drive? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2010, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Default whats better as a primary drive?

Ssd or hdd? I have both right now. Ssd id primary at the moment with 128gb and my hdd is storage at 500gb. Now here's my problem, I only want to install my games on the ssd drive. The os on there is fine but since the os is on there it stores all my temp files and everything else on tbhat disk. Would it be better to make the hdd primary and install os on that and then only install games on the ssd? Hopefully you understand wat I mean. If not just ask.
__________________

jlatour88 is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: whats better as a primary drive?

SSD's were basically invented for the sole purpose of having them be the primary drive.
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 10-10-2010, 03:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: whats better as a primary drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
SSD's were basically invented for the sole purpose of having them be the primary drive.
oh i see... well i guess il have to deal with the limited space.. lol thx
jlatour88 is offline  
Old 10-10-2010, 08:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: whats better as a primary drive?

I'm currently using a 40GB partition for my OS and programs, and I keep my games and other files on two other drives. You have a 128GB SSD, so I doubt you'll need to take very much notice :P
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting SATA DVD drive to primary drive? thejeremy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-03-2008 02:53 AM
Duel monitors, Primary monitor not knowing its primary software wise teh_gr1m Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-29-2007 01:02 PM
ADD C:/ PARTITION TO (primary) I:/ drive jamie7823 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-08-2006 10:56 AM
master primary drive? reiko_ambrose Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 03-03-2006 01:21 PM
Will my primary drive still be recognized? Kyoto512 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-10-2005 06:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.