What would you upgrade on my rig for $250-300? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2004, 10:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Hey guys, thanks for the replies. I think I am going to get a couple 74gb raptors. Man, those things arent cheap. I wonder why the x800 pro is getting such crappy reviews? My bud has an built by ATI x800 pro and the thing is screaming fast. I have played D3 on it for hours at the highest settings w/out any problem whatsoever. Unfortunately I have not had the chance to test out a 6800gt or ultra yet, so I cant compare it to the x800 pro. I am def. not an ATI fanboy, but the x800 seems pretty powerful. Then again, what the hell do I know? LOL, this was my first build, so I am still learning.
__________________

__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 01:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
i doubt anyone knew... u must be so pissed off now Beedubaya.
Yes, I am. Thats why I flame ATI and the X800 so much on these forums. If I pay $400 for a card, I expect to get high end performance that lasts me some time. Like I've said before, my GeForce4 MX card served me better than this card has. I was able to max out the settings with it on all games up to UT2004, which then it started to choke. The X800 has given me problems from day 1 when I tried to play Far Cry.

Quote:
Hey guys, thanks for the replies. I think I am going to get a couple 74gb raptors. Man, those things arent cheap. I wonder why the x800 pro is getting such crappy reviews? My bud has an built by ATI x800 pro and the thing is screaming fast. I have played D3 on it for hours at the highest settings w/out any problem whatsoever. Unfortunately I have not had the chance to test out a 6800gt or ultra yet, so I cant compare it to the x800 pro. I am def. not an ATI fanboy, but the x800 seems pretty powerful. Then again, what the hell do I know? LOL, this was my first build, so I am still learning.
The 6800GT is TONS better than an X800 pro. With an X800 pro, you have to overclock just to get above the 10000 mark on 3Dmark. The 6800GT should get between 11,000-12,000 stock, maybe even higher. You'll see the difference, for with the 6800GT you can actually use AA on newer games (Far Cry, Doom 3), which you can't with the X800 Pro.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 03:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 70
Default

6600GT is PCI-express only presently
__________________
nothing ventured.......nothing gained
Kaniver is offline  
Old 09-16-2004, 12:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default

CREATIVE SOUND CARD ALL THE WAY! (no, caps lock wasn't on)
__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 06:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

I would invest in a graphics card or you could get dual 74 GB Western Digital Raptor Drives
__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 11:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

You might want to change the Zalman cooler, its really only ment for processors up to 2.8 - 3.0 GHz. It's a semi passive HS. You might want to find something that blows right over the core. That should drop your temps, and give you a cheap increase in power.
-Joe

P.S. What are your temps btw.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:17 AM   #17 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
Plus, the X800 cards are supposed to be the best for HL2.
That is true. Half-life 2 has been completely optimized to use the full extent of ATi's components. The high-end 9800 series even perform better than the 6800 series. Not to mention that the Source engine does not support AA when using nVidia.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 02:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default

I would get like two 160's (like i have :-D) for video, and w/the extra $100 get an internal sound card (creative...whatever). MHO
__________________

__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.