What will riasing FSB voltage do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2008, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 134
Default What will riasing FSB voltage do?

What does raising the "FSB Overvoltage Control" do?

Also what does raising the "(G)MCH Overvoltage Control" do?

Since raising voltages is usually required to stabilize things, I assume that's probably what will happen, but how do I know when I need to raise these voltages?

XDRoX is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 12:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: What will riasing FSB voltage do?

when you hit high FSB. To be very general anything 400+ FSB assuming you have a P35 board. Also if your running 4x1gb ram you'll need alittle extra voltage because of the strain that is put on the NB. Read around other forums especially the manufacturer of the mobo.

thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 02:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: What will riasing FSB voltage do?

Can anyone with the 680i A1 board advise me on a safe FSB voltage (Nosboost?)?
Burn is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: What will riasing FSB voltage do?

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 03:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
stalin90's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: What will riasing FSB voltage do?

pic from other thread:

pic taken by mgcook...

some ppl might consider those voltages kinda high but ive run them 24/7 and havnt had a problem

here is also another forum taht has some stuff on the 680i
Essentials for Overclocking the 680i (NVIDIA Reference boards) - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Always wondered VampD New Systems | Building and Buying 8 05-19-2008 11:45 PM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 07:04 PM
Noob question regarding FSB speeds. manowar Overclocking and Modding 10 12-26-2007 05:35 PM
Quick Voltage Question MetalOwns Overclocking and Modding 14 07-29-2007 10:37 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.