What will cooling do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 09:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default What will cooling do?

will getting better cooling increase my max oc?? cos im presently at the most vcore i can put in (as in mobo doesn't have higher options) and im getting 43C under load. if i were to get a zalman 7700 or thermaltake venus 12 would i get better ocs over my stock? btw im presently doing 2.7ghz on my 3200 winni
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

That's very nice temp-wise under full load. If you reach the max OC, thats that, not much else you can do that I know of at least. I am not an overclocking genius...though.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

srry by max oc i mean the most that i can presently run them at. basicaly cos thats not my every day clock
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

you mean that's the max you can run at because of heat?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 10:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

na its beacause thats the at the max amout of valtage my mobo can dish out
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

A cooler computer is a happier computer. And yes, keeping the computer super cold, will help you to get a higher OC.If those are the temps you are currently getting under load, I dont imagine a Zalman 7700CU would get them any lower, as they are already pretty low. You might want to start considering water cooling if you want to go any lower than that.
Him is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Sh0r_ty, am I reading right and seeing your LDT bus running at 1280MHz? The HTT can't go over 1GHz without leading to stability issues, you should have the LDT ratio down to 3.

Either way, a 2.7GHz Winchester on an Asus AV8 is nothing to frown at, if you've given it the max vcore possible there won't be much else you can do and you'd be lucky if you hit 2.8GHz. Your processor has probably capped or the motherboard is the obstacle in this case, not cooling.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Sh0r_ty, am I reading right and seeing your LDT bus running at 1280MHz? The HTT can't go over 1GHz without leading to stability issues, you should have the LDT ratio down to 3.

Either way, a 2.7GHz Winchester on an Asus AV8 is nothing to frown at, if you've given it the max vcore possible there won't be much else you can do and you'd be lucky if you hit 2.8GHz. Your processor has probably capped or the motherboard is the obstacle in this case, not cooling.
well i've done prime and never had a problem and it is set at 270X5 and i havn't had any problems in programs. also im useing a A8N-SLI but doesn't really matter. anyway so you are saying that i probebly won't be able to get any higher even with better cooling unless i go to water or somthing really pricy like that and even with that i might not be able to get any higher.

thnx guys
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.