What socket is this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 02:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default What socket is this?

My brother's computer is about 5 years old, and he still has this coolermaster cpu fan that is obnoxiously loud. Anyone know what socket this is so he can get a replacement? I know it's an AMD chip @ 1.2GHz, but that's all we know. Thanks for any help.


__________________

Triple-X is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 02:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

download everest, i think that tells u wat socket it is
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Or you could use cpu-z
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by curtcheese64
Or you could use cpu-z
Thanks, cpu-z found that it was Socket A.
Triple-X is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I have the same heatsink/fan combo in my sisters computer case... 1.4Ghz AMD... Very loud, but it does the job.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

maybe its dirty? trying cleaning it up then see what happens, if its still loud, change it.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

No, they are loud, they run around 5000RPM....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

Just keep it. Chances are that processor runs really hot so just leave it on there to keep from having possible heat problems. THe older AMD chips ran real hot.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 03:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

There aren't really any quiet CPU coolers for Socket A xept the Silent Fans which run way too slow to cool that chip efficently.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 10:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Haha. I just noticed. It says "Socket A" right next to the fan, in small print. And he didn't know what the socket was... Yeah, I'm just as bad sometimes.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.