What runs at 70C? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 05:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default What runs at 70C?

I don't like using the utility that comes with the Gigabyte board to monitor my temperatures and things because it doesn't show enough information. So I decided to try Motherboard Monitor 5.

Only problem is that during the setup when it asked me to choose my motherboard model, my model wasn't listed. So I had to set the thing up manually.

There are 3 temperature readings that I am getting. I know what two of them are. The CPU is 21C at idle on the gigabyte utility so I know that the one reading 21C on mobo monitor 5 is the CPU sensor. Another sensor says 25C which I can also conclude is my chipset temp since the gigabyte utility displayed the same temperature. I have also been able to get the same reading for one case fan and my CPU fan.

There is only one thing I can't figure out. The last temperature reading says 70C. And I don't know what that sensor reading is for. Is there any part of my computer or motherboard that could reasonably be running at 70C? Maybe another chipset or something. I'm just curious as to what this 70C temperature is referring to.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

It could just be a bad reading, or maybe you have a hot graphics card.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

According to ATI Tool the graphics card GPU is at about 37C idle and the GPU ambient is about 35C idle. So I don't think it's that.
I don't know if a graphics card could even handle 70C temperatures?

By the way, on Everest, it gives the 70C temperature as the CPU temperature.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

does the 70c reading change at all? if it changes, its a real temp, if it doesnt, its a messed up sensor.

My 6800GT has 3 temp sensors on it. One around the memory modules, one on the gpu core, another on the other side of the card. I'm guessing that the 70c is the temp of your video core temp.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I don't know, all my other reading say my GPU core is 37C...
My x800 xt pe usually idles around 41C. So I doubt the x800 xl would run hotter than that.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Dale5605, the X800 XT PE can handle temps of around 81+ degrees celcius. That 70 can be your room temp, but thats hard to determine from inside the computer. Its very possible thats your HDD. 10000rpms runs very hot.

Personally, all you REALLY need to know is your CPU and GPU. As long as your certain its not your CPU/GPU/mobo. I wouldent worry. But yes, that 70 is anonnying, since it keeps poping up. That would drive me crazy.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

70c for a grfx card isn't that bad if its a 6600GT as the max temp before slowdown is 145C
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

He has his specs in his sig. For the XT PE, 70 degrees celcius would be pretty normal. But he has a ATI temp monitor utility. So i dont think thats his cards temp.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 10:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Sorry I forgot to specifiy, this is actually for my amd 64 bit beta test system, not my main system.
No it is not my vid card because I have checked and like I said it is about 36C now. And actually my x800 xt pe is idling at 37C right now, with 33C ambient.

But are you sure video cards can handle temps even over 100C? That seems a little crazy to me. I'd be worried if my video card temp went over 60C. That's why I'm considering the Zalman V700-Cu for my x800 xl, because I would like to see temps more in the 20s.

Oh and since you mentioned my hard drive codeine I don't know about yours, but Everest places my 10k raptor at 28C. If it was 70C I would definitely have to get the Zalman hard drive heatpipe cooler to cool that thing down.

No, I was more concerned that this temperature was coming from something on the motherboard itself. I know my "chipset" is 25C, but I'm not sure which that is. Is that the southbridge do you think? Could it be that another chipset, like my northbridge or something, is at 70C? I would like to figure out if one of the chips on my mobo is 70C so I can hurry up and stick a heatisnk on there to cool it down.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 05:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I dont think your SB or NB would get that hot. Have you increased voltage to them? Usually those chips never have any kind of problems.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.