what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2008, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Angry what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!?

Speedfan said 52c, core temp shows 412c, bios shows 40c, everest doesnt move from 23c... WHAT DO I DO!!! i have read that there are problems with the temp readings on these, but now i cannot OC because i dont know my real temps. I am using an arctic freezer 7 pro. Will updating my Bios fix everything? dont rly want to update bios unless i have to.. tried getting the bootme thing on the flashdrive, followed on directions but it wouldnt show up on the flash drive. Are there any programs that read the temp on it right? i though the 45nm were supposed to run cool. I am very angry that i cannot see my real temp
Specs:
ASUS P5N-D
evga 8800GT SC
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3ghz
2x 1gb Crucial Ballistix
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!?

Try updating BIOS first its real simple on ASUS boards. If its hard for you try talking to gurusan he helped me updating and overclocking as well as b1gapl.
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!?

dont i have to flash it or somthing though?
__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by braz View Post
dont i have to flash it or somthing though?
That's what updating the BIOS entails, yes. It's very simple. It took me 10 minutes total to update mine. Downloaded my file, put it on a flash drive, booted into my BIOS update built on my mobo, copied the update over, set BIOS to default, then OC'd again. Works fine. Just don't shut your comp down in the middle of it.

There are utils that you can do it through Windows itself...but I wouldn't trust a program flashing the BIOS, but that's just me.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 11:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!?

It's actually pretty simple, just make sure you know what your doing and it should go fine.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
It's actually pretty simple, just make sure you know what your doing and it should go fine.
Which means read your manual on updating the BIOS =P.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: what reads e8400 temp right!?!?!?

yea, i think i will try the asus EZ flash 2 utility. Says to just put the BIOS update on a flash drive, during POST press alt+F2, then go to tools>EX Flash2 and press enter. It will auto update. Is the BIOS file just somthing anmed 0302? its a BIN file. also, is 0302 the latest version for the asus P5N-D?
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new pc is up! temp problems e8400 braz New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-22-2008 02:38 AM
Core Temp 0.96 mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 01-06-2008 10:55 PM
question about what to worry about cpu temp or core temp? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 2 12-19-2007 06:53 AM
idle temp Nick Overclocking and Modding 13 08-16-2007 12:06 PM
60C for motherboard temp good? advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 4 07-22-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.