What ram should I buy?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 12:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Question What ram should I buy??

Hi everyone, I have a few questions, I'm building myself a new computer and I was wondering whats the major difference between dual channel memory (DDR) and just regular DDR. I found a stick of pc 3200 512mb for 39.99 (canadian) at this link

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicati...29&Sku=ULT30215

If I plan on overclocking later on would I be better off with dual channel memory or this and will it make a huge difference?

And my final question, would it be better to put 1gb of dual channel ram or 2gb of the regular pc3200?


Thanks a lot for your help.
Quote:
Hey, they have the internet on computers now!
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 12:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Dual channel isnt the memory, its the motherboard that has it. You see, many people think dual channel comes with the memory, it doesnt whatsoever. The dual channel is in the motherboard. It basically has the memory work together so when one is at the peak of the instructioin, the other one starts a new. They work together, getting more work done in a shorter amount of time.

Alex
__________________

algu7344 is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 01:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Ohh now I get it. So could I make the cheaper ram run dual channel?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 01:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

if ur board has dual channel
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

the link doesn't work
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If that was 512 meg of ultra ram, pick it up. It even overclocks a bit.

And i have 2 sticks of ultra in dual channel
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 02:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

i would recomend not going to cheap on your ram if your planning to oc. Try these 3 brands, Corsair, Mushkin, PQI Turbo. Those will work awesome when you plan to oc.
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.