What PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2003, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Just get an Enermax 465p-ve.. it's 431W (more than enough for practically any setup), and generally fairly resonably priced. I'm using a 365p-ve (350w) in my AthlonXP 1600+ with plenty o' devices, and it works great, but you might wanna go with the bigger one just to be safe.
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 01-15-2003, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

A quality 350W PSU is better than a cheapo 430W, which would die out after prolonged usage.

Seeing as you have multiple drives, I generally don't look anything less than 400W for that matter - and I stick with quality brands such as Antec and Enermax.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 01-15-2003, 06:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

WOOT! Enermax ROCKS, but be sure to get one with an Intake and an Exaust fan.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-15-2003, 06:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

IE. My first post stands.. get an Enermax 465p-VE
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 01-18-2003, 03:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 24
Default

In your list you haven't got any fans, they take up power and if you plan to overclock you need at least 2 good fans.
John81 is offline  
Old 01-19-2003, 01:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90
Default

Well I'll post my setup for referrence and maybe it will give you an idea. I have a 300w PSU............yes this may seem small, but when you live in CA, and in a house with 3 other comps, the power bill can go through the roof if you have all 4 machines running 8-10 hours a day. Here's my setup, everything runs fine:

P4 1.5ghz @ 1.61 (107 x 15)
768mb PC-133 RAM
1 60gb Samsung HD
1 120gb Maxtor HD
LG CD-RW
ECS P4IBMS mobo
Nvidia TNT2 (120/125) @ 150/155
3 80mm case fans
1 40mm fan for the TNT2
Intel Stock CPU fan
12" Cold Cathode

All of this H/W runs fine........the CPU voltage is 1.68v, I have a fanbus, but it is only on/off. Yes 350w+ PSU's are nice, but you dont always need em.
__________________

ikellen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.