What PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2003, 04:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx

Just get an Enermax 465p-ve.. it's 431W (more than enough for practically any setup), and generally fairly resonably priced. I'm using a 365p-ve (350w) in my AthlonXP 1600+ with plenty o' devices, and it works great, but you might wanna go with the bigger one just to be safe.

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 01-15-2003, 05:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

A quality 350W PSU is better than a cheapo 430W, which would die out after prolonged usage.

Seeing as you have multiple drives, I generally don't look anything less than 400W for that matter - and I stick with quality brands such as Antec and Enermax.

Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 01-15-2003, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

WOOT! Enermax ROCKS, but be sure to get one with an Intake and an Exaust fan.
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-15-2003, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx

IE. My first post stands.. get an Enermax 465p-VE
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 01-18-2003, 02:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 24

In your list you haven't got any fans, they take up power and if you plan to overclock you need at least 2 good fans.
John81 is offline  
Old 01-19-2003, 12:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90

Well I'll post my setup for referrence and maybe it will give you an idea. I have a 300w PSU............yes this may seem small, but when you live in CA, and in a house with 3 other comps, the power bill can go through the roof if you have all 4 machines running 8-10 hours a day. Here's my setup, everything runs fine:

P4 1.5ghz @ 1.61 (107 x 15)
768mb PC-133 RAM
1 60gb Samsung HD
1 120gb Maxtor HD
Nvidia TNT2 (120/125) @ 150/155
3 80mm case fans
1 40mm fan for the TNT2
Intel Stock CPU fan
12" Cold Cathode

All of this H/W runs fine........the CPU voltage is 1.68v, I have a fanbus, but it is only on/off. Yes 350w+ PSU's are nice, but you dont always need em.

ikellen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.