What now? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 07:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default What now?

ok i have my 3200 at 2.7ghz and im getting 44c under load for 4 hours with stock cooling but i have no more vcore options on my board (max is 1.55vcore). im sure that i have more room with my mobo cos im doing 270 *5 htt. how do i get it higher

any recomendations
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 11:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Wait... you're htt is 270 x 5? I thought you couldn't bring it over 1000?

Anyway, isn't there some option also where you can adjust the percentage that the Vcore is increased? There is on mine... take a look and see if you have it.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

well its at 270X5 and its stable so
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 01:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

that's the htt multiplier, not the htt frequency (i think)

and GJ with that ram, mines sucks ***; it can barely get pass 210
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 02:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Exactly... 270 x 5 = 1350, which is a bit more than I was told stable was. Holy man.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 09:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Nice work. You have only a few options left now;

1. You can get a modded bios which may or may not let you put in more voltage. But it is a gamble, because a modded bios COULD screw up your board and you will need a new one. It could also not free up your voltage, so it is a huge gamble.

2. You could Volt mod your board, but again that is another gamble. I wouldnt advise that unless you REALLY know what you are doing. Or are simply ballsy.

3. What is your memory voltage? Is that maxed out? You could try a DDR Booster, they apparently work pretty well.

Just my opinion, hope it all works out for you.
Him is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

k well the problem is the vcore not ram voltage. but how much further would i be able to push my ram if i put in more voltage. The thing is that i would like to get 3ghz
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 07:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Okay, to go from 2 GHz to 3 GHz (that is what you want, right?) I think you'll need a bit more than your stock cooling man. You're going to need to up the Vcore some more, and not only that, but you'll probably need to be able to overclock your RAM a bit too. You'd need the FSB at 300. I think you're gonna need some water cooling man.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 07:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

well im at max vcore and why would i need water cooling when im at 44c load

and yea i can go to 300fsb but i don't have enough vcore to stabalize it in fact it can't get past bios screen when at 3ghz
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I was saying that at 300 FSB, you'll probably need better cooling, but now you're fine. Maybe not, I was just giving you a heads up... that's all.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.