What Motherbaord belongs in this case? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2006, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default What Motherbaord belongs in this case?

I just bought a Mirco ATX case... I can't find the motherboards to it.

Can anyone tell me if it's AMD socket or Intel Socket. And the Socket number.

I have attached pictures.


Cajete is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 57

Just find mATX boards it is ussualy and option on most sites

-Asus P5W DH Deluxe
-C2D E6600
-G.Skill F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ
-Hiper 580watt Psu
-Zalman CNPS9500 AT
-BFG geforce 7300 PCI-E
-Logisys clear blue
-250 Segate Barracuda
ssjgoku24 is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 07:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276

the case only affects motherboard size, not the type or socket.
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 10-24-2006, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
GrimReaper23's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23

No need to have this thread in two different parts of the forums.... I answered your question on the other thread... PS the socket is what the CPU amount of pins is to go into the socket on the mobo. I can tell you are new to building pcs so if you are going to build it yet make sure everything is compatible... What you look for is

1. The Motherboard Type.... If the case requires Micro ATX make sure the mobo is Micro ATX

2. The Socket Type... Now take that compatible ATX and look for the socket type if it is the same as the CPU socket that is good too.

3. Video Card Slot... Look at the type of video card slot it on the Motherboard (They're two kinds, AGP and PCI-Express) make sure it is the same as the Video Card you are buying (If any)

4. Ram Slot Type... This is your DDR slots or Memory Slots the spec on the Motherboard might say just make sure that if you are running AMD that you get a Ram and Motherboard combo that is DDR xxx ALTHOUGH if it is AM2 socket CPU or an Intel CPU get DDR2 xxx The x's are also important that is the speed that the Ram runs at (average now is DDR 400) make sure your Motherboard supports that speed.

5. Now this is not a compatibility issue but something to look over... If you are not planning on buying a video card make sure your Motherboard has onboard video or you won't be able to hook up your monitor.

-Hope this helps but next time don't make two threads on the same topic.
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 07:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602

umm what would the case have to do with the socket??...?
keyser09 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.