What memory does my MOBO support - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2004, 11:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to fatdawg16
Default What memory does my MOBO support

I have a aopen MX4SGVI-4DN2 MOBO and i dont know what kind of RAM it supports, this is what it says in the manual:

Memory

With Intel 865GV Chipset, this MOBO can support dual channel (DDR) RAM. The dual channel mode allows chipsets to get data in 128 bits and zero ait state bursting between RAM. The data transfer at 266/333/400Mhz. The fou slots of DDR SDRAM can be composed of an arbityary mixture of 64,128,256,512, or 1024 DDR SDRAM and maximun up to 4 GB.

DIMM Sockets

This MOBO has four 184-pin DDR DIMM sockets that allow you to install 128-bit dual channel DDR400, DDR333 or DDR266 memory up to 4GB. Only non-ECC DDR SDRAM is supported. Please install suitible modules; otherwise serious damage may occur on memory sockets or ram modules.

Warning: This MOBO supports DDR SDRAM. Please do not install the SDRAM in the DDR SDRAM sockets; otherwise it will cause serious damage on the memory socket or SDRAM module.

what is the difference between DDR SDRAM and SDRAM? and what memory types does my MOBO support?
__________________

fatdawg16 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
Default

SDRAM is an older type of memory which doesn't really feature in newer systems nowadays. It stands for Synchronious Dynamic RAM. DDR RAM comes in 3 main flavours: PC2100, PC 2700 and PC 3200. Those are 266, 333 and 400 mhz respectively. So your system can use those 3 types of RAM. You have 4 DIMM slots on your motherboard (memory slots) and you can put sticks from 64-1024MB of RAM in to those slots. Technically you can have any variety but in practice it's best to have sticks from the same manufacturer and of the same specification.

Hope that helps. If you need any more info please say.
__________________

Noob Builder is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,278
Default

Also dont forget about 3400 all the way to 4700 and DDR2 which is 5400.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to fatdawg16
Default

so i can buy ddr sdram and ddr ram or just ddr ram?
fatdawg16 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.