to what GHZ can you OC the P4 3.6GHZ chip? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2004, 04:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default to what GHZ can you OC the P4 3.6GHZ chip?

Anyone who has oc'ed this or knows someone who's successfully done it, post your top results here, and state what cooling system you used.

i can't afford one
__________________

__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Maximum PC was able to get around 3.97ghz air-cooled. It's in the current latest magazine right now. The mobo was a Asus P5AD2 Premium.
__________________

WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

didn't even know theres a 3.6 ghz processor on the market... whats the fastest speed (out of the box) right now? from like a retail place...i thought it was 3.3
__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default

Alienware has a 4Ghz processor out now for there ALX systems. I personally don't like Intels but I think that the the new Pentium 4's are pretty sweet.
__________________
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

actually there jus shipping it @ 4ghz its really like a 3.6 or sumtin
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default

Still, with PCIe and DDR2 thats a pretty sweet package.
__________________
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gl\l0m!$h
actually there jus shipping it @ 4ghz its really like a 3.6 or sumtin
right, AW claims (which i'm not doubting) they OC the P4 3.6 to 4.0GHZ before shipping
__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well toms hardware guide website set a world record overclock of a 3.4GHz chip to like 5.25GHz I think it was...but yeah lol that was liquid nitrogen cooled just for the CPU..had ice crystals forming around it....then they had the vapochill setup just for the NB alone. They stuck an electric thermometer underneath their homemade 'heatsink' I guess you could say and it read -190.3 Don't know what the temps read from like the BIOS or anything but yeah they had to have a specially constructed board to handle the extra wattages. Heres the link for that article:

http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/20031230/index.html
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

yea its sweet circa but u guys no how much it costs?
$5,458
and thas without any upgrades or nething
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Psht anything alienware you're paying like 50% of the price because it says ALIENWARE on the case... Thats just retarded brand names are getting ridiculous today..you're paying more for a name than you are an actual product
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.