what dremel bit do I need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Question what dremel bit do I need?

okay I am clueless as to what bit or wheel or acessery I need to cut in the steel of my computer case.

I have tried cutting wheels, they dont cut circularly. Then I tried the rotozip bit, not made for steel just dont cut it (literally). now I juist bought the 7 flippin dollar tongstun carbide bit, and it is absolute KRAP. It wont cut it at all.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 07:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

What did you do when you tried the Roto-zip?

If you have all the components, you should be able to use it like a compass (geometry, not navigational). You will need to drill a pilot hole for the Roto-zip as the "blade" isi designed to cut along its long axis. It does not work like a standard drill bit.

I have done this a couple of times and it is super easy after a few test runs on scrap material.
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

no I put the roto-zip bit in the dremel, but I do have a roto-zip also, I will have to look at the stuff that came with it, but I dont think it cam e with a compass attachment.

I understand that you have to drill a pilot hole, but I cant find any rotozip bits designed for metal. I have only seen them for dry-wal, plaster, plastic, and wood.

Now my uncle who lives just down the road has a brand new dremel with all the acceries, like a compass, and many others.

All I am looking to do, is drill a 12cm hole in the top- of my tower for a blow-hole, and I dont want to get a holesaw when I have all the stuff I need.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 09:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Here is an example of the type of bit you will need.

http://www.amazon.com/Rotozip-XB-MC1...9?ie=UTF8&s=hi
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

What do you mean cutting wheels don't cut circularly?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
What do you mean cutting wheels don't cut circularly?
I think that he means that the cutting edge of the wheel is flat. Though not impossible, it is difficult to get a CLEAN circular cut with a flat cutting edge that is 1/2" wide.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 02:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Perhaps I'm missing something?

You don't stuff the whole cutting wheel into the material for one. You go over it several times. If you go lightly over the top, it is very easy to get a circular cut. It will be in your best interest to cut inside the line of course, because you will not have a PERFECT circular cut. But, it will be close enough that you can finish it with a file or a grinding attachment.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 08:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

CrazeD, you are correct. You are not missing anything. The technique that you describe can be done readily enough - if one is careful and patient. I used the rotozip as I was after the enso.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

well like I said, I can borow my uncles dremel with the compass attachmetn, and I have a speacial tungstone carbide bit or somethin along those lines. would that work, I will see if I can find a link.

here is the link, http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS...ceffdfgidgmk.0
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 07:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

The link didn't work for me. Just make sure that you have a Rotozip style blade.

You could always do what crazyD said. It takes some patience and a steady hand. Most of the time the cut will be covered with rubber/plastic sleeve and then the framework/grill over that.

Practice on some scrap metal.
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.