What does it do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2009, 05:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 35
Default What does it do?

Well, what does overclock do.
It may be a stupid question, can you overclock graphics card so I can play a game?
__________________

DaRKESTHoURx is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What does it do?

makes a cpu, ram or video card run faster than stock specifications. Yes you can overclock a videocard. Riva tuner is a good program for this but do some research before you start.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: What does it do?

Well, I want to run fallout 3. But this is what I get.


What do I have to do?
DaRKESTHoURx is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What does it do?

what video card do you have?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: What does it do?

ATi X1050.
DaRKESTHoURx is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 06:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What does it do?

You could always try but I doubt you could get acceptable fps with that card. If you really wanted to play I would invest in a new video card.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 06:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: What does it do?

Would it be worth it to try and overclock it?
DaRKESTHoURx is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 06:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: What does it do?

It is always worth a try but even if you can get it to run you will be on the low end and will probably still want a new card. What motherboard do you have?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 35
Default Re: What does it do?

I dont know, how can I find out?
DaRKESTHoURx is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 08:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,514
Default Re: What does it do?

Run CPU-Z and let us know the brand/model on the 'Mainboard' tab.

CPUID
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.