What do u think of this spec? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2004, 11:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
Question What do u think of this spec?

Ive been offered this setup for £380. I want to use the computer for gaming on the internet mainly. I have a good 21" monitor already.
Any help with suggestions for improvements would be appreciated. My max budget is £450.00.

AMD 2400+ CPU
60 GB
CD/DVD PLAYER
FLOPPY
256 DDRAM
128 MB RAEDON 9200
5 BUTTON OPTICAL MOUSE
STEREO SPEAKERS
KEYBOARD
56K MODEM
6 USB2
100 MB LAN
CASE
12 MONTH WARRANTY.
__________________

gecko is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

You might wana go 2 sticks of 256 ram and the vid card...isn't that good.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Default

Yeah i would say 512 ram and maybe a 9600 could be rather nice
__________________
My Computer
3.2ghz Pentuim 4 HTEE (800 FSB),1024 mb ram,Geforce fx 5900
Creative 5.1 digital ,DVD/DVDRW
1 case fan , 500 watt power supply
XP Home
geforcebOY is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

two sticks of 256mb ram and a new graphics card like a ATI 9600pro or xt
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Default

Is it going to be for games
__________________
My Computer
3.2ghz Pentuim 4 HTEE (800 FSB),1024 mb ram,Geforce fx 5900
Creative 5.1 digital ,DVD/DVDRW
1 case fan , 500 watt power supply
XP Home
geforcebOY is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Default

i mean't really new games cause ya said it was for gaming (DRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR)
__________________
My Computer
3.2ghz Pentuim 4 HTEE (800 FSB),1024 mb ram,Geforce fx 5900
Creative 5.1 digital ,DVD/DVDRW
1 case fan , 500 watt power supply
XP Home
geforcebOY is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

^ Gefroce boy, i dont think its possible to run all of the things you have in your sig on a 250 watt poerr supply
Trax is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 44
Default

Yeah i know but i don't have enough money to buy a new power supply yet i still in det for the fx 5900. But is running fine i am on it at the mo so. Could i cause damage
__________________
My Computer
3.2ghz Pentuim 4 HTEE (800 FSB),1024 mb ram,Geforce fx 5900
Creative 5.1 digital ,DVD/DVDRW
1 case fan , 500 watt power supply
XP Home
geforcebOY is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

geforcebOY your 12v rail must b at 3v or something with all that in your case...
A new PSU is only like 35 quid if you only want a 350W one
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 01:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

well im getting a case with 350wat ps and a like a few fans for like 80 bux CDN.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.