What do I need to run this TCCD Ram at 300MHz? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 11:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default What do I need to run this TCCD Ram at 300MHz?

Man Look at my Setup! For Some reason I can't push my FSB very high at all! I max out at about 233MHz and I have PC4800 (TCCD) Ram chips with loose timings and 2.9v!

What can I buy to get this Ram running at 300MHz? Could I for sure do it on a Socket 939 setup? Maybe a Athlon 64 Venice 3000+?
__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a K8 system.
the XP-M and Abit NF7 are descent overclockers, however the onboard memory controller of K8 CPU's gives it the advantage.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 09:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320
Default

Lower your cpu's multiplier.
__________________
Grayfox is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
however the onboard memory controller of K8 CPU's gives it the advantage.
that, but it's just the fact that the north bridge on the K7 systems simply can't handle those high *** FSBs.....not without getting really hot, needing really good cooling and generally extra voltage....even with all that 300MHz would be.........mmm probably close to impossible

Quote:
Lower your cpu's multiplier.
....no
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 06:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Do K7s have memory dividers?
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

My old K7 motherboard supported them after a BIOS update
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I believe the K7's do... I of course would never use them!
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 10:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

The older K7 CPUs where good for there time, still are for basic machines to play low end games.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 11:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

"Low End" Games Huh? LoL, With my Athlon XP-M @ 2.4GHz, 1Gb of ram, and my 6600gt agp, I can play anything I want Maxed out. Doom 3, Quake 4, Half-Life 2, and with 4x AA too! K7 still packs a great bang for the buck!


Now I need to know what 939 mobo can run my pc4800? Keep it under $100. And i don't need SLI.

__________________

__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.