What do i need to get started with overclocking? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2004, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default What do i need to get started with overclocking?

Somone help me please
__________________

Trax is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

tag!
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

i need somthing like a program that can tell me the ghz im running at after i turn up the vcore
Trax is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

http://www.aida32.hu/aida-download.php?bit=32
that is a program in which moniters everything. You can also find it by going to performance and matinence in your control panel. As well as looking at the bios. All of the above will help you get what you need but the bios will tell you multiplier to fsb speeds not just the actual clock speed.
XT is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

^ notthing came up when i went to the link

and im still not clear on the fsb and vcore thing

do i turn them both up slightly or just one?
Trax is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 12:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

?? i thought you were asking a program in which you could veiw the clock speed. Any how.
here is a simple o/c guild by me.
Basically, what you do is up the fsb and multiplier in very small incriments like 2 fsb more and test it for an hour and see if it is stable. if you reach a point in which it gets un stable you can up the v core VERY LITTLE to keep it stable.
http://www.evozero.gamma.timdorr.com...erclocking.htm
XT is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 12:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

thanks alot, and yes i do need a proram to cview my clock speed, if you could find one it would be much apreciated
Trax is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 12:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

You can either look threw the bios or go to control panel>>>performance and maitenace>>>> systme and its right there infront of you
XT is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 12:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

yes, but is there any other more accurate way to messure it, like to the exact number?
Trax is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 12:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

the bios is the exact number mate. giver or take 1-2 mhz
__________________

XT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.