what to do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2004, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default what to do?

Ok I got the comp running by adjusting the frequency/ratio in the BIOS. This mobo suppose to adjust by itself when on auto settings, But I guess it didn't. Everything looks great after I adjust the CPU and memory frequency. I then start installing Window xp. During the middle of installation, I start getting white verticle lines and then it got worse. What else can I do? It work fine for the first 3 mins and then the picture went bad. Need some suggestion please.
__________________

florida402 is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Need to know more about your computer, CPU speed/type/model/manufacturer, motherboard type/model/manufacturer and memory size/speed/type/model.

Also temperature.

It sounds like a hardware problem, it could be either the memory/CPU or motherboard, I suggest you run memtest86/86+
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 06:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

New

Video "VGA CNNCT3D|RADEON 7000 32MB RTL"
CASE ANTEC|WKSTN TOWER SX835II
MB SHUTTLE|AN35N-ULTRA RETAIL
DDRAM 512M|PC-3200 991093 MUSHKIN
CPU THERMAL PASTE OCZ ULTRA 5+

I already have this in the old system and will transfer them to the new system:

Amd t-bird 1200 processor and heat sink and fan
cd-rw drive
floppy drive
dvd drive

The temp. is in the (40). How do I run memtest86/86+? Is there anything I can do in the BIOS to fix this?
florida402 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.