What did I screw up? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 09:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

What were you doing inside your computer case with it on in the first place? The only time you ever need to do that is hotflashing the BIOS
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Default

Nubius,

No need to dwell on it, is there. What's done is done. Now do you have any useful advice for me?
__________________

__________________
~ Heath
smallblock is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 10:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

that must suck, ruining a whole computer, ive never done that before. The worst ive done is screwed the psu, mobo, graphics card but everything else was intact. good luck in getting some components working.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 11:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, I'm still wanting to know what exactly you were doing inside your case, so anyone else who might try that will know not to. And on top of that I was saying, hotflashing is the only time that requires you to be inside there with it on so people don't automatically assume that there is absolutely no time you should be in there.

It was a simple question and statement, don't take offense man. I don't see how a power connector could have done anything to a HD when the connectors are plastic.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 11:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

dont you have warranty on your parts?
__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 11:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
dont you have warranty on your parts?
Yeah you should definitely check out the manufacturer warrenties. HD's are like 3 years, RAM is generally 3 years I believe, vid cards probably a year. That would save you quite a bit of cash
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 12:01 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Just tell them that you had a thunder storm and **** got fried!!!!!
BUT DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT TELL them that it wont work due to your negligence.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 11:47 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

The connectors are plactic but there are metal contacts inside that could short the mobo if touched at the right angle and it could travel through the whole system in a second. I've dont that before, heard a small "pop", and that was it. It hit the harddrive connector because I unplugged it from the harddrive but left it like in the slot accidentally and it just touched it, and that was it, so it is possible.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 11:53 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 115
Default

I am sure the warranty doesn't cover me screwing them up.

Nubius, I had a couple of HD's I was going to hook up after I had Windows installed on the first and everything up and running. I left the cover off the case so I could do this. I went to push a cable to one side so I could look at the MOBO and some how I got a power cable to touch metal on one of the HD's... there was an electrical pop and the computer immediately shut down.

This is going to end up being a 700 + dollar lesson!
__________________
~ Heath
smallblock is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 03:40 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I am sure the warranty doesn't cover me screwing them up.
Yeah you leave that part out, trust me I fried a stick of RAM and I just said 'Oh please kingston I don't know what happened it just stopped working' and they sent me a replacement.

That sucks dude =/ I really didn't mean for it to come off like 'WHAT THE HECK NOOB' or anything like that, I was just wondering how that connector did that =/

You really should atleast try the manufacturer warrenty though. Just act all scared and unknowing of anything and generally they will replace it rather than try and find out what you did or didn't do
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.