what is the best cpu for playing games? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2003, 03:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sur+
spfd: The Athlon 64 doesn't really support many applications or even an operating system, but people still buy it .
Not true. the Athlon 64 supports 32-bit mode on the side of 64, compared to the rumoured Intel 64. This makes it possible for the Athlon 64 to run 32-bit and 64-bit programs at the same time, and gives an edge against Intel competing chip in the soon to be times of revolution.
BUT, the info on Intel, even though, reliable, is not officially annouced, if I recall correctly.
__________________

The J is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 04:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 85
Default

the athlon 64 is currently the fastest cpu for gaming, and most other things
__________________

__________________
Asus A7n8x-x
athlon 2800
radeon 9600 pro
512 mb 2700 mem
western digital 80gb special edition
zoerb is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 04:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ken Masters
What Intel chip has a 800 Mhz FSB? Itanium?
P4's have 3 types of PF4'S!
400FSB, 533FSB, and 800FSB

Highly Expensive, not needed.

Oh yea, dont evern buy a celeron or a duron for gaming!
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 04:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sur+
The only Pentium 4's with a 800mhz frontbus have hyper-threading.

The type of chip to buy depends on the type of gamer you are...

If your looking for the best performance out there then I'd go with the p4 3.2 ghz special edition or the Athlon 64 FX-51.

If your looking for something that's maybe a less inexpensive but still runs extremely well, go with either the Pentium 4 3.0 ghz or the Athlon 3200+ XP.

Ok, this list could go on for a while so I'll break it down for you...Unless you are looking to speed up your computer to speeds you can't even notice the difference with, go with something around a 2.0ghz +. I personally recommend Intel.

Trebor: Not all above 2.66 ghz have a 800mhz FSB. Like I said above, only those with hyper-threading have a 800mhz FSB.

spfd: The Athlon 64 doesn't really support many applications or even an operating system, but people still buy it .

Anyways, hope this helps you out .
your following numbers, you dont need that crap.

Not yet at least,
the software cant keep up with the hardware.
Anyways, i heard the FX was 1000 fsb?
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 08:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

ok, go here
http://www.alvio.com/pmoreinfo.asp?iid=2753
it will tell you what you want to know about the Athlon 64 3200+
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 11-28-2003, 08:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to koomba
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bleep
2.4C Ghz and above.

Actually he was right, cause the 'C' denotes that its the 3rd generation p4s, with ht and 800 fsb. But might need to clarify it still.
koomba is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 05:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Argilus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 128
Send a message via AIM to Argilus
Default

I just went amd, heard it was just ranking better than intell. Went here, and check along the side of all the profiles most people here had in gaming posts, and AmD seemed to over take. Sooo....I dunno, up to you kid.
Argilus is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 10:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 65
Default

Intel has trouble with their architecture believe it or not, and I see it as a bad thing when they have to come out with a separate line of chips just to handle multi-tasks better, oh so catchingly called Hyper-Threading; what crap as they STILL dunnot perform multi-tasking as well as an AMD. AMDs are more smoothly running, last longer, don't fnck up on multi-tasks and they dont have that up and down rollercoster ride of slow times and fast times.

AMD is the way to be...preferebly an Athlon 2600+ or right around the 2500+ to the 2800+ unless you're willing to spend more/less money.
__________________
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
Maxtor 80GB/7200RPM/8MBCache/ATA-150 SATA
AMD Athlon XP 2600+ Barton
Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200/DDR400
ATi Radeon 9800Pro 128MB
Cosmic~Fury is offline  
Old 12-09-2003, 11:21 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

2800+ is probably the best price, anything higher then 2800, the price takes a pretty big leap..
well thats in CAD
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 09:22 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 46
Default

As for compatibility for the atlon64, it will run 90% of all software created in the last 10 years.
One of the things that makes the athlon64 such a fast processor is that it it's own memory controller build in, it can access memory without the chipset. You can also see this on the MOBO's as the processor is between the chipset and memory instead of the chipset.
Most bandwith for data between processor and chipset used to be for memory but now amd took that out this can be used for a whole bunch of other stuff.
difference between the athlon64 and the athlon64 FX is that the FX is Dual Channel like his big brother Opteron. Like the Opteron the FX will be more expansive.
But even the Atlon64 single channel performce better than the p4 3,2 32bit mode. Let alone a true 64 bit OS.
For now, athlon64 kicks ***. But intels answer is right around the corner.....
__________________

volkanb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.