What about this mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2005, 03:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default What about this mobo?

Apparently Abit is the best for overclocking, if I'm wrong please tell me.

How is this board? How is it for overclocking?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127152
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

For intel 478, abit is the brand to stick to... I'm glad u took my advice on the Asus..

Its a nice board, and judging by the rest of Abits 478 boards it would be a nice clocker
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 06:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ABit is a damn good board choice for socket A systems, but for AMD64 they really lacked on it honestly, because even the MSI Neo2 plat is recognized as a better OC'ing board for nf3 socket 939 boards, as we all know DFI is the king of AMD64's pretty much for any other board you need for AMD64.

I know squat about intels though, so I don't know what board inparticular to choose of theirs
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VIII
For intel 478, abit is the brand to stick to... I'm glad u took my advice on the Asus..
Well, you'r story seemed, well, not something that I wanted to run into.

Nubius, you are suppose to know everything! We all know that DFI is king for AMD, but I'm not sure how they do with 478 though. But from what VIII said and the pictures of peoples phase changes system over on xtreme (they all have ABit board) I leaves me to the decision to buy an ABit.

Got my check today, perhaps I will order it.
Him is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Either way you look at it, DFI, Abit, and MSI are the best altogather. Just dont go getting anything else. I have a Abit AV8 3RD EYE, it has handled OC pretty good, just to bad this boards temp sesors are crap.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

So I just tried my hand at OCing my current board. I have the Jetway 875PMAX. Nice board.... NOT!!!! That thing is so crappy. It wont save the FSB changes, nothing. I changed the timings on my memory from 2.5-3-3-7 to 2.5-3-3-6 going to keep experimenting. I tried to change the FSB from 133 to 140 and the timings, but it yelled at me and wouldnt post. So I ordered my mobo, the ABit, should have it middle of the week. After that comes my RAM, then PSU, and then my new water cooling kit!
Him is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 06:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

What WCS did you get?
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

WCS? Oh man, I dont know. What do you mean, WCS? Should I know what this is and feel like an *** seeing that I dont know what it is?
Him is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

"water cooling system", i would guess.
Luxar is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

A HA! I just woke up, so that didnt occour to me. I right now have the Thermaltake Aquarius II, but I'm going to build my next one. It's going to be very similar to Nubius'. I'm going to get some parts from DangerDen and mod out some other ones.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.