What is a 1:1 overclock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2008, 03:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default What is a 1:1 overclock?

With my new Q6600 and TRUE coming, I'm interested in overclocking for my first time.

Now I know the basics, but what is this 1:1 ratio I'm supposed to aim for?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 03:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

A divider is what allows you to run the CPU FSB and DRAM (memory) at
different clock speeds. Ideally, your CPU FSB and memory should run at the
same clock speed (i.e., synchronous). However, it is *possible* to run the
CPU FSB and memory at DIFFERENT clock speeds (i.e., asynchronous), but only
within certain limits of the mobo chipset. The available CPU FSB/DRAM
settings are defined as a "ratio", or sometimes called dividers.

For example, suppose you have an Intel CPU w/ FSB of 133MHz (clock). You
want to use a memory of PC3200, which is 200MHz clock. By default, your
BIOS will typically configure your system for "synchronous" operations by
downgrading the memory clock speed to 133MHz to match the CPU. This is
called a CPU/DRAM ratio (or divider) of 1:1 (synchronous). Not very
appealing when you consider that you've just lost 66MHz of memory clock
speed. That PC3200 is effectively now PC2100.

Now suppose you'd like to fully exploit that PC3200 and run it
"asynchronously" to the CPU, iow, at its fully rated clock speed of 200MHz.
To do that, the BIOS must provide an appropriate "divider", or CPU/DRAM
ratio. Chipsets will typical provide support for a very limited # of
dividers (1:1, 3:4, 4:5, 5:6, etc), and it varies chipset to chipset. In
order to support, in this case, a CPU FSB of 133MHz (clock) and memory speed
of 200MHz (clock), we need an appropriate divider. In this case, if the
motherboard supports a 4:6 divider, the configuration is supported (and
here's the calculation):

133MHz / 4 = 33MHz
33MHz * 6 = 200MHz

IOW, the motherboard uses the divider to tell you what relationships are
configurable for the CPU FSB and memory, and you simply do the math as above
to see what's possible. If you don't have, in this case, the 4:6 divider,
you can't run a CPU FSB of 133MHz (clock) and memory speed of 200MHz
(clock), end of issue.

But sometimes you can workaround the problem. Let's suppose we overclocked
the CPU, oh let's say, to 166MHz (not unprecented for an Intel P4
Northwood). By doing so, we can now take advantage of the 5:6 divider
(let's assume the mobo in this case supports it), then we have:

166MHz / 5 = 33MHz
33MHz * 6 = 200MHz

Whalla! By overclocking the CPU FSB, we've manage to not only run the
memory "at spec", that is, PC3200 or 200MHz (clock), we've even increased
the CPU FSB for better performance. Naturally, this doesn't address the
issue of CPU stability. But it illustrates how overclockers use the
CPU/DRAM ratio (or dividers) to configure the mobo to their liking.

Let's say the CPU is not stable @ 166MHz clock. We still have the 5:6
divider available, so we'll simply increase the CPU FSB a few increments at
a time. As we do, we'll be also increasing the DRAM clock speed thanks to
the divider. Perhaps we find that the CPU is stable until, say, 144MHz
(clock). We apply the formula again and get:

144MHz / 5 = 28MHz
28Mhz * 6 = 172MHz (or, 172MHz * 2 (DDR) * 8 (bits) = PC2752)

Not as much DRAM performance as we wanted. but certainly closer to PC3200
than before! Just for fun, let's consider using the 4:6 divider instead:

144MHz / 4 = 36MHz
36MHz * 6 = 216MHz !!!

Hmm..., interesting we've now overclocked the memory as well. This is a
good example of why overclockers often buy performance RAM, with speeds of
PC3500, PC4000, etc. The extra headroom in that memory allows the
overclock, with the assurance of stability.

Why don't you not always see dividers in the BIOS? Some mobo's don't
configure based on dividers, not directly. What I mean is, they are still
restricted to a given set of CPU/DRAM ratios (dividers), but the user
interface may present those options in a different way. For example, if you
specify a CPU FSB of 133MHz, then the BIOS will only allow you to select
DRAM settings that are compatible w/ the dividers it supports. It doesn't
directly expose dividers, per se. They still exist as
limitations/restrictions, it's just that the interface the manufacturer has
chosen conveys the information differently. Many will use the term CPU/DRAM
ratio instead. In the end, the mobo chipset ALWAYS has some limit on these
CPU/DRAM relationships. IOW, you can't just plug in any ol' values you
want, there's a relationship between the CPU and DRAM that must always be
maintained. And one chipset may be more flexible than another (e.g., NVIDIA
nForce4 vs. VIA). The CPU/DRAM ratio possibilities for a given mobo chipset
are always defined in terms of these dividers.

HTH

Jim


source:
AMD Overclocking - Memory Dividers???
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

wow...well, he summed it up pretty **** good.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

this deserves to be stickied asap.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

Oh you mean this?
GUIDE: How to buy/what to look for when buying a computer or new part.
Section three..
Ste is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

lolz....yea i looked its already there chris....STE knows.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 03:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

so...........noob question: mine in CPU-Z shows CPU/7, that good?

my CPU is OCed to 2.9GHz right now n my RAM 4-4-4-18-24 at 416MHz.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

yes thats good.
if you raise your clock you will raise the ram speed as well.
you may even be able to go with lower voltage running the ballistix at 416mhz.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 01:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
yes thats good.
if you raise your clock you will raise the ram speed as well.
you may even be able to go with lower voltage running the ballistix at 416mhz.
possibly, it's at 2.2v right now n i want it to reach 1066, like how the mobo is standard with that speed, u know? For me to reach that, do i need to lower the timings my one n voltage as well?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 01:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: What is a 1:1 overclock?

i would be impressed if they ran to 1066 with those timings. certainly possible, i suppose. to reach that speed you will need to raise the ram speed to ddr2-800 in bios and overclock using the cpu clock instead of the unlocked multiplier of your chip.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why I Overclock QuaziBee Overclocking and Modding 10 08-22-2007 11:15 PM
Safe overclock speed? Haoming Overclocking and Modding 6 08-01-2007 12:20 AM
wanting to overclock my E6420 Snake64_009 Overclocking and Modding 12 07-16-2007 03:43 AM
ATi x1950xt overclock....? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-14-2007 03:13 PM
First TIme Overclock, PC not working now. HELP!!!! mvpo.geo Overclocking and Modding 10 04-13-2007 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.