Well, it is almost done... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2010, 11:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

looks good, nice OC too
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-07-2010, 11:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

Quote:
Originally Posted by yzmxer608 View Post
Did that case come with grommets for the tubing holes? Or are those holes not sharp enough to damage the tubing?
The holes did have grommets and they're already smooth from the factory. The grommets were too tight with the 1/2" hoses, so I removed them. I ordered elbow barbs so that I could have my rad turned the other way, but just like the hermie clamps they sent me instead of the traditional clamps, something got messed up. I decided to go ahead anyway.

@ S0ULphIRE -Thank you very much for your kind words, they mean alot. It's not finished yet, but it is well enough along now, that I'm not ashamed to be proud of it. I even gave it a name, just like my M-249 when I was in the Army....

Like I said, I am open to suggestions, tips, and tricks as this is only my fourth LC build (second for myself). You have mobile/notebook modding questions, I've got answers, but when it comes to desktop liquid cooling from scratch I know enough to honestly say that I'm still newbish. I will say that I'll probably stick with desktops from now on, as there is so much more room to work with and so many more resources.
__________________

__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 04:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...



I added a 120mm case intake fan on the window. I went extremely slow with a block of wood underneath and a leveler to ensure that I was working on a level and supported surface and it still made two small cracks(not very large though and definitely not noticeable) . The gpu temps went down some though, as well as TMPIN0-TMPIN2 in hardware monitor. I assume that the TMPIN temps correspond as follows, TMPIN0-cpu, TMPIN1-northbridge, TMPIN2-motherboard. Is this correct?
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 05:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

I can't tell you what TMPIN0 - TMPIN2 are without looking at a screenshot, and then I'll just be guessing. It seems that your mobo must be a new model and HWMonitor doesn't know what sensors are for what components. HWMonitor is about due for an update
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 06:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

I hope this helps. I know that it's different for every computer, but everest isn't very specific either. Using everest ultimate as the basis for comparison and deduction, I can only guess that's how the numbers correspond. I'll post a HWMonitor screen for you Slay, and as always thank you for any help you can provide.


---edit...Okay I'm looking at the LCD tool and it's telling me(temps) that TMPIN0=CPU overall, TMPIN1=???,TMPIN02=System Temp. Not sure if TMPIN1 is the Intel NB or the Nvidia SB... The DR. MOS (Mosfets) are 25c-30c.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HWmonitor.jpg (77.1 KB, 161 views)
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 07:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

TMPIN0 is probaby the CPU socket temperature. There is a sensor on the mobo inside the socket. This is not the actual temp of the cpu.

TMPIN01 is probably the Mosfets. They get hot, if DR. MOS says 25-30C then I understand why I've never heard of DR. MOS as I'm sure that's not correct.

TMPIN02 is probably the System or NB temp. The SB doesn't get that hot so it probably doesn't have a sensor.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 07:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

This is where I get the DrMos from... It's on the Ferrite Chokes, and I assume the LCD is referring to the Mosfets. The LCD displays temperatures for 10 of them ranging from 25c-30c, and it's hooked directly into the motherboard via a proprietary panel on the back. The temperatures for cpu and system are in line for what HWMonitor is displaying on the desktop for TMPIN0 and TMPIN2.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (97.1 KB, 158 views)
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 07:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

I don't know about the LCD Display, but 37C sounds appropriate for the Mosfets. It's even a pretty cool temp for the Mosfets especially considering the fact that your watercooling (no heatsink fan to blow air on them).
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 07:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Grand Tinker
 
cq842000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to cq842000
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

Hmmm, I see. Thanks for your help with this Slay, I guess we'll have to wait for the update in order to know for sure. Can anyone suggest to me compatible northbridge(Intel P55), southbridge(Nvidia NF200), and mosfet waterblocks? Thats also in the planned upgrade path.
__________________
...Unda..Bestia...
MountainMods Ascension | EVGA X58 4xSLI Classified | Intel Core i7 980X | Swiftech/EK/Feser Liquid Cooling | 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 2000 DDR3 | 2x Sapphire Radeon HD6990 (core 1ghz/memory 1.5ghz) + GTX 460 for PhysX
| 2x WD 640 GB 7200rpm HDDs | Antec True Power Quattro 1200w + Antec True Power Quattro 1000w |

cq842000 is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 08:07 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Well, it is almost done...

I'll look this evening when I get home from work
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.