Weird Temps.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2006, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default Weird Temps....

So i had an ASRock 775VM800 mobo with my P4 prescott 521. Now that board read the temp at around 50C-60C. So i OCed a little, temps stayed the same. The other day i was runnin Prime95, got back and my comp had a weird message on the screen and when i restarted, it was really really slow. So i reinstalled drivers and everything and still the same thing. Well i had my new upgrades on its way from newegg (new mobo, ram, hd, vid card, PSU). So i put everything in today, and my CPU temp is readin 35C-40C. O yea i do have a scythe ninja on it and had it on it with my ASRock. I've tried multiple programs and they all read the same temp (Speedfan, PC wizard, Everest home edition, even BIOS said 35,36). My mobo now is an Albatron PX915P-2V. So far i'm likin it better than my ASRock, its actually got CPU voltage options in BIOS so i can OC more. the only thing, idk which temp is right and i have no money to buy a temp probe to put between the CPU and Heatsink

Any1 have any ideas?
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 11:53 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

if all of those programs AND ur BIOS are telling u its 35C then its 35C. the temp chip would be reading correctly. i noticed u also got a new PSU which could have something to do with it. ur other mobo might have been giving it too high a voltage too. although that temp seems a little low for a prescott...
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

Its the overclocking dude....

Processors are clocked for a reason, and the reason is for an instruction to to finish during a pipe cycle....if its not finished...and the processor is improperly clocked...the forwarding logic will cause more cycles per a process cause the processor to slow down...

Here are ref specs...
AMD with Intel Arch = 14 stages
Intel with Intel Arch = 30 stage {soon to be 14}

All the stages must be saturated with an instruction for optimum performance.....

If you improperly overclock a processor, then you may have heavy interal and external fragmentation....

Im not sure why your temp didnt go up....are you sure you overclocked the correct thing...

It may be ram....therefore it would seem your ram is failing...
Unclock it and run memtestx86
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 08:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Temps were like that before i even touched an overclockin option in BIOS. How do u improperly overclock a CPU? nvr heard of such a thing
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I found that OC'ing didn't really change my temps at all. That is, going from 2.02GHz to 2.35GHz. Temps changed maybe...5C at both idle and at load. What changes temp is mostly your core voltage, coupled with extensive core clocks. But, changing the core clock alone doesn't affect the temps too greatly.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.