WC running. Bleeding Reservoir? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2008, 03:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default WC running. Bleeding Reservoir?

Hey. Finally got this running-ish. It's leak testing right now. nothin so far, 2 hours in. we'll see what tomorrow brings. Fitting 7/16 tubing over 1/2 fittings was immensly painful lol. Moreso the pump, as it has a beveled edge. had to use a heat gun heh. on top of the clamps theres no way in **** that thing is goign to leak.
Honestly, I couldn't pull off the hoses with my strength haha. But if any of the equipment is defective then that would suck XD.

I'll edit and resurrect my older post, i took LOTS of pictures of different stages. This case is/was a pain in the ***. lol

ANYWAY.

I opted for a reservoir over a t-line, and i'm a little stumped as to how I properly bleed the system. Seeign as the rad is mounted to the top of the case, i could stick the case on its side and prop the reservoir to the highest point, which is what I did a few times to manually bleed as much as possible. (flipping aroung a 40lb case like a rubix cube sucked haha).

Got one of the EK multioption cylinder reservoirs. The reservoir has 4 holes. top, bottom and two on the side. I have top and bottom plugged and hoses attaching from the sides. All I did was unscrew the plug at the top and poor soem water in to replace any air, then screw it back on. rinse, repeat.

If I have the case sideways and the reservoir at the highest point, will the air stay in the reservoir, allowing me to unscrew, and replace it with coolant. Or will it just get sucked back through the loop, because it isn't a t-line?

If it will get sucked back through how would I go about bleeding it? Also, can the top be unplugged while the pump is running (if its at the highest point)? Or will it shoot out everywhere? That would make things slightly easier as I'd be able to check and add without a huge hassle every time.


sry for bold just did a lot of typing so figured i'd outline the question.

Thanks guys. I'll get pics and crap up asap when I can grab the camera again.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 07:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: WC running. Bleeding Reservoir?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
If I have the case sideways and the reservoir at the highest point, will the air stay in the reservoir, allowing me to unscrew, and replace it with coolant. Or will it just get sucked back through the loop, because it isn't a t-line?
if the reservoir is at the highest point, and the tubings are below the water level, the air won't get sucked back into it
http://apokalipse.googlepages.com/watercooling.PNG

in fact, reservoirs are usually easier to bleed. The loop going through the reservoir means that any air that's in the loop, will have to pass through the reservoir. And since air rises, you end-up with it at the top of the reservoir.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 12:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: WC running. Bleeding Reservoir?

Ah splendid. Thank you very much apok ^^ and nice pic XD Thanks again.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet running slow on one computer onizzy Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 08-14-2007 02:12 AM
Am I running to hot? AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-30-2007 03:59 AM
XP running slow -CPU @100% 70%of the time! ryanrs Microsoft Windows and Software 16 07-10-2007 07:36 AM
Computer Running Very Slow!! Please help! johnc123 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-10-2007 11:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.