Way too hot C2D E6400 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2007, 05:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
M733mhz's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz

41C Idle with water cooling? That sounds odd to me. My 4000+ ( Not trying to start an AMD Vs. Intel thing, I could care less either way, Just for sake of example) is OC'd to 2.88 with 1.45Vcore I and it rarely, If ever hits 40C. I thought the new architecture helped with the thermal properties unless they just naturally run hot I'm guessing?


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 06:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956

^^i wonder this as well^^
my 4200 @2.8+ with 1.5v, as5, 9500cnps and room temp of roughly 70F idles at 25ish*.
if you idle at 41, what do you reach under full load?

"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 10:47 AM   #13 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068

same here, 3200+ @2.9 w/1.4v, stock cooling, idles around 28, loads around 34.
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 05:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536

my room is like 80F. It's like 53C under full load.
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU

-2.4Ghz Penryn
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 02-10-2007, 05:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130

I put on a Zalman 9500 and now my temps are down to normal

CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.