water vs. air - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2006, 07:11 PM   #21 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

but wouldnt even distilled water corrode everything since oxygen is the one responsible for rust etc? and what other liquids would there be other than water? and what non-conductive?

and whats worng with the case? mine is fine for everything. good air flow
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 07:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

rust=oxidation. oxidation and corrosion are 2 different things. it is dissolved ions in water that conduct electricity and corrode the internals of you system. distilled water has much of these but not all removed hence is less conductive and less corrosive. there are coolants. you could even use radiator coolant.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 11:25 PM   #23 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

well the thermaltake one im lookling at has its own radiator coolant to reduce corrosion. or at least thats what it says. but u need a new cpu about every 2 yrs to stay with the top anyways so might as well get a new cooling system too. so i dont think the corrosion is going to happen that fast

do they fit any size or do u have to get certain ones? like s775 or 939
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 11:42 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'm not entirely sure i think some are made to fit but generally i think a waterblock can be used on most cpu's. if not you should be able to replace the waterblock and keep the rest of the system
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:48 AM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Any waterblock can work on any existing recent socket, you just have to buy the appropriate mounting hardware for that specific socket

You wanna use 90% distilled water + 10% zerex/antifreeze...distilled water will not conduct electricity and zerex will keep impurities from building up in the coolant...you should still obviously change the coolant once every 6 months or so ideally

I personally was using that same coolant and it leaked and got on my motherboard PCBs, cleaned it up with some rubbing alcohol and let it dry and it worked fine
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 09:56 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

the main reason to use distilled water is there will be no limescale perhaps not a major issue if your not planning on running the system for years.

Personally if I had liquid pumping around my case I'd want it to be non conductive, but I guess its not so important if your rich or something
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 02:15 PM   #27 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

lol well being a college student i'm not rich so i do not want my new comp to blow the first week i use it.

how much more can u OC using 9:1 water:zerex? and where do u find zerex?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:02 PM   #28 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

and is water quieter than air even tho u need the pump?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 12:30 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
..distilled water will not conduct electricity
Guess what, I just got some distilled water and a multimeter... you're wrong.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 04:18 AM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
Guess what, I just got some distilled water and a multimeter... you're wrong.
I did the same thing a couple of days ago lol. but with different outcomes, I got no current pasing through it. How ever I got 0.3amps pasing through the de ionised water I have in my PC water cooling. (I did the test at 12v if it matters.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.