Water cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2004, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default Water cooling

Now we are getting some summer weather, I have noticed my PC getting hotter than I would like. I have (almost) decided to go with water cooling, and wondered if anyone could give any pointers on the subject.

A possible problem I have flagged up is the lack of Heatsink mounting holes on my Gigabyte 7N400 pro 2 motherboard, as most waterblocks seem to use this method of fixing. This would appear to be a solution, but is new to the market, and therefore not ‘tried and trusted’.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

well.. i have a aquarius III. It comes with a universal waterblock.. so its bacisally for everything. Its also a external system so u dont have a thing of water Inside your computer. So if u have any leaks the most that will happen is your carpet or desk getting alittle wet. The way that the block mounts to this CPU is... there is a bracket u put on the bottom of the motherboard. You put the screws through the little holes that the cpu fan bracket is. (you have to take the bracket off in order to get the screws in). After you do that... then u just go and put the nuts on and there u go. You got a waterblock. um... but thats bacisally it. Its very simple to do and one of the simplest to set up. Its also very quiet. There is a ajustable fan in there from 2100-5550 RPM's. So its good. Onyl thing is... its 220 dollars brand new in the US. But.. the price may of gone down. If u want u can also get like a different waterblock for better cooling.
__________________

__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default Re: Water cooling

Thanks for the reply, but...
Quote:
Originally posted by LV38_Eagle
A possible problem I have flagged up is the lack of Heatsink mounting holes on my Gigabyte 7N400 pro 2 motherboard, as most waterblocks seem to use this method of fixing.
I looked at the Aquarius, but you yourself say I need the holes in the motherboard that I don’t have.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Monster00
well.. i have a aquarius III. It comes with a universal waterblock.. so its bacisally for everything. Its also a external system so u dont have a thing of water Inside your computer. So if u have any leaks the most that will happen is your carpet or desk getting alittle wet. The way that the block mounts to this CPU is... there is a bracket u put on the bottom of the motherboard. You put the screws through the little holes that the cpu fan bracket is. (you have to take the bracket off in order to get the screws in). After you do that... then u just go and put the nuts on and there u go. You got a waterblock. um... but thats bacisally it. Its very simple to do and one of the simplest to set up. Its also very quiet. There is a ajustable fan in there from 2100-5550 RPM's. So its good. Onyl thing is... its 220 dollars brand new in the US. But.. the price may of gone down. If u want u can also get like a different waterblock for better cooling.
No water in the tower? Well I'm pretty sure there are hoses that go from the radiator to the water block. So if something happened to the hoses or the connection to the water block I could see some water getting in the tower.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

yea well what i ment was like not a resivor in the tower. But eagle.. what u can do is u can go and get a different waterblock if uw anted to get the aquarius III.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Monster00
yea well what i ment was like not a resivor in the tower. But eagle.. what u can do is u can go and get a different waterblock if uw anted to get the aquarius III.
Ok, just didnt wana leave someone who hasn't done this feel like their computer is invincible to any possible leaks.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

Don’t panic Chaos, I knew what Monster meant. Its hard to cool a CPU without coolant!
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LV38_Eagle
Don’t panic Chaos, I knew what Monster meant. Its hard to cool a CPU without coolant!
Wasn't in a panic. Just didn't wana see someone mess it up and kill their pc, that would just suck...
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

True, I would hate to have to replace the entire contents of my ‘box’ now.

LV38_Eagle sets mode +ON TOPIC!!
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.