Water? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 10:39 PM   #41 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

Can you say highjacked? Lol idc man. Im not going to go there actualy cause im gonna say that Frozencpu is prolly ripping you off. Im one to speak w /experience and im gonna say that they are prolly best for little things like lights and case badges.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-12-2006, 05:36 PM   #42 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

Ok so another question for my watercooling i STILL havent bought due to lack of funds. If i get a Bigwater from Frys which is only 80 now can i get a better cpu block and install it later? Remember im still putting this on an nF2 chipset so i gotta keep funds for a chipset cooler of some sort for PCB mods.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-12-2006, 05:57 PM   #43 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

u could get a better block, but that probably wouldn't help much. the pump im sure sucks and th3e flow rate is miniscule tot he point that the block wouldn't matter that much. also its probably 3/8 inch or even 1/4 so that sucks too. just wait then invest in a custom built really good one, thats what i did and its coming any day now, then i just need a mobo :sigh:
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:03 PM   #44 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

Theres a problem w/ that though. I have a gf and a car w/ insurance bills and so money dosent stay in my pocket for very long. Il ljust have to upgrade the parts one at a time starting w/ the tubing and cpu block and work my way up. Its the only way if its possible.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-12-2006, 08:54 PM   #45 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
If i get a Bigwater from Frys which is only 80 now can i get a better cpu block and install it later?
No.....bigwater is using 1/4" tubing, all good blocks like the TDX will be using 1/2" tubing. And even if you convert the bigwater to 1/2" tubing (which would be stupid), not only is the pump too weak to even pump it through 1/2" well enough, but it wouldn't even be able to handle the blocks.......I suppose you could get a maze4 block which isn't impingement and is for weaker pumps, but the bigwater is REALLY.....REALLY weak and as I stated, wouldn't even be able to effectively handle the 1/2" tubing.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 10:18 PM   #46 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

Well thats what i was asking. I want to just upgrade on the way. I know its not efficietn on the dough but like i said again the girl and car suck everything outa me and i cant keep more than a hundred stowed away w/out one of the two smelling cash. More the car than the girl but anyways. So get the bigwater and upgrade the pump then buy tubing which is no big deal cause its cheap. Gonna need converters right? Or no?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-12-2006, 11:21 PM   #47 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I don't follow your logic...you're going to end up replacing everything from the kit so you're really only wasting $80, adding a block isn't going to change the fact that it still uses a weak pump and tiny restricting tubing...muchlike adding a pump isn't going to change the restrictive block
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:35 AM   #48 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

Really isnt logic. Its like buying a 6600GT to pass on later to get a G80 or w/e. I want to get rid of my HSF on my processor and have a watercooling kit. Ill be replacing stuff one at a time like fixing a car one piece at a time (restoring it w/ limited funds). I just want watercooling for LAN parties and eventualy ill have a DD setup but it will take some time. Also, if i buy the pump and block at the same time tubing will only cost very little. Vuala i have new stuff but yet still have a radiator and resevoir.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-13-2006, 01:49 AM   #49 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 96
Send a message via AIM to specialblend218
Default

I agree with gaara, and you're only a few bucks short of a good 1/2 inch setup.
__________________
www.revelationlan.com Lan Gaming in Southern California!!!
specialblend218 is offline  
Old 03-13-2006, 11:37 AM   #50 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

78 is not a few bucks. Thats not including shipping and tax.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.