want to start overclocking - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2008, 04:35 PM   #31 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Right now I am running Prime95. So far the highest temp has reached 55 but comes back down to 50. I am using CPUID Hardware Monitor to monitor the temps and one of the temps is -2 degrees and it has never moved. Why is it so low and why doesn't it move? Every program I used to monitor temps show the same thing.

If I set it to 3.0ghz, what would I need to set the voltage at? How much should I increase it at a time?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 04:38 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: want to start overclocking

It is best to use Coretemp on Intel dual and quads.

Voltage is dependant on chip, more so on the VID of the chip.

So you just gotta play around with it, never give it more than it needs, so start at the defualt voltage and work your way up until it meets your definition of stable.

my VID is 1.25 and I only need 1.3375 for 3.6 Ghz..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 04:39 PM   #33 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: want to start overclocking

1.35 volts should be good for 3.0ghz depending on your vid my chip can clock 3.0 with out voltage increase at all... anyway i would use core temp to monitor temperatures its the most acurate with the q6600 chips.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 04:49 PM   #34 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
Right now I am running Prime95. So far the highest temp has reached 55 but comes back down to 50. I am using CPUID Hardware Monitor to monitor the temps and one of the temps is -2 degrees and it has never moved. Why is it so low and why doesn't it move? Every program I used to monitor temps show the same thing.

If I set it to 3.0ghz, what would I need to set the voltage at? How much should I increase it at a time?
what test are you running? and make sure your using the latest version of prime95, the earlier versions didn't have automatic multiple core support

the max load temp should never drop... if anything it should increase more since your on air cooling
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 04:50 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Idle and load temps should both increase when clock and voltage increase reguardless of cooling setup.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:11 PM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Right now I have it at 2.8ghz. I noticed the FSB to DRAM ratio is 2:3. Isn't it good to keep it at a 1:1 ratio? How do I change that? I didn't see anything in the bios that would let me change that unless I am not looking for the right thing.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 05:48 PM   #37 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: want to start overclocking


System memory multiplier. Notice that when you change it the line right under it also changes to let you know what speed will come as a result.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:02 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

What motherboard is that from? Mine does not have the option below the System Memory Multiplier, High Speed DLL Settings. What does the SPD stand for?

What number will I be changing, 800 or 1333?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:29 PM   #39 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Idle and load temps should both increase when clock and voltage increase reguardless of cooling setup.
i meant that since he said his load temp was 55 and down to 50... load temps are always 1-3 degrees the same, and since its on air cooling it'll probably increase for quite a while even if it is 1 degree after X amount of time
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 06:43 PM   #40 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
What motherboard is that from? Mine does not have the option below the System Memory Multiplier, High Speed DLL Settings. What does the SPD stand for?

What number will I be changing, 800 or 1333?
That's a Gigabyte board. I used to use one...got rid of that POS though. Anyway, to set the FSB:RAM to a 1:1 ratio, set the system memory multiplier (SPD) to 2. That'll change the 1333MHz speed you see there.
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC hard to start and freezing Mike9182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-26-2007 07:35 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Where and when did overclocking start and by whom? krazyq Overclocking and Modding 1 09-06-2007 04:09 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.