want to start overclocking - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2008, 02:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: want to start overclocking

I told you to go into advanced bios feature so you can disable c1e and eist. That will stop it from jumping multipliers. Theres tons of info on this here. Look around
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 02:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

I googled the problem and this seems to be normal. It operates at a lower speed when it is idle and goes up to the normal speed under load.

How do I go about changing the ram speed? I did not see anything to change that.

Right now I am at 2.6ghz. I just ran 3dmark06 and scored 12,296. At stock I got around 11,000. My temp stayed around 40. I am going to keep on raising it. Do I need to change anything else besides the fsb? Everything else is set to auto.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:01 PM   #23 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: want to start overclocking

c1e and eist ruin yoru overclocks and cause things to become unstable in many cases

disable them

since your running a gigabyte board you'll probably have to press ctrl f1 to access the advanced features (a new menu link will appear)

also.. if you ask our opinions please respond to them...

we already told you to set your voltage manually and not to keep it on auto

make sure your stressing your cpu while checking load (download orthos or prime95 and run a large FFTS torture test)

ram speed is tied to FSB, the higher the fSB the higher the ram speed
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:05 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

How do I change the ram speed? Right now I am at 2.7 so what should I put the voltage on?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:11 PM   #25 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: want to start overclocking

I answered your question in the post above

although you can't directly change the RAM's speed, you can tighten the timings (advanced DRAM settings)

put the voltage on the default voltage (it should tell you, if not set it on the lowest)

the goal for voltages is to make it so that its high enough to run your system stably (running orthos or prime95 for 12 hours minimum) without causing crazy temperatures

be warned, temperatures may increase substantially (5-20 degrees) when you increase the voltages even by little amounts
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:25 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Okay, I disabled both of those things, set the voltage to 1.25 and I'm running at 2.7. According to CPU-Z, the core voltage is 1.232. Why isn't it 1.25?

How hot is to hot for a GPU? While I was running 3dmark06, it got up to 73 after it was done. Is that to warm? I have not overclocked the gpu any.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:51 PM   #27 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: want to start overclocking

its called vdroop. That temp is fine for a quad. As you increase the fsb, check for stability. If its not stable then go add alittle more vcore and check stability again. Keep doing this while keeping an eye on temps and your ram speed.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:52 PM   #28 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: want to start overclocking

I'd say 80 is a good place to be at for a max load temperature

what program are you using to stress your CPU when you overclock?

edit:

^^= gpu
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:53 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: want to start overclocking

71C is what intel says, but Im not sure if thats a single temp for a core or for the IHS temp. I just keep it below that for all cores. And I think thats only for the GO quads.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 04:34 PM   #30 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
Okay, I disabled both of those things, set the voltage to 1.25 and I'm running at 2.7. According to CPU-Z, the core voltage is 1.232. Why isn't it 1.25?

How hot is to hot for a GPU? While I was running 3dmark06, it got up to 73 after it was done. Is that to warm? I have not overclocked the gpu any.
guys he said his gpu is at 73c lol, and ya thats good hwat are your cpu temps at load?
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC hard to start and freezing Mike9182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-26-2007 07:35 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Where and when did overclocking start and by whom? krazyq Overclocking and Modding 1 09-06-2007 04:09 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.