want to start overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2008, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default want to start overclocking

I have a Intel q6600 and a Gigabyte P35-DS3L mobo. I would like to overclock the cpu to at least 3.0ghz but I have no idea where to start. I don't want to damage anything. Has anybody else overclocked with this combination and could you tell me how you done it? Right now, idle temp is 42 and 48 under load. How much will this rise once I start?

The specs are in my sig.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: want to start overclocking

not all overclocks are the same... thus we can't tell you the exactly temperatures, the best way to get started is to try

check the stickies for more information (guides)

krazyq has the same cpu/mobo combo

but the ram you have is also important
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: want to start overclocking

wow the artic freezer pro sucks i have my q6600 at those temps at 3.7 lol, it runs at 26/28 idle when stock on low rpm. consider gettign a better hs/f
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

I think part of the problem is I didn't put enough AS5 on my cpu. I need to put more on there and see if that helps. What kind of cooler do you have?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: want to start overclocking

i have the tuniq tower 120, u only need a thing line and when u put ur heat sink on turn it about15/20 degress each way. if its not lower then dont even consider overclockign with that heatsink, i knew it was an ok sink but i dotn think its to good for quads, im using ocz5+ paste to OCZ Technology | Products | Cooling Products | OCZ Ultra 5+ Silver Thermal Compound *EOL

aparently its made by artic silver and uses the as5 formula.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

I always heard to put a pea sized amount in the middle of the cpu. I don't know if this has anything to do with it, but when I first turn my pc on, the cpu fan will not start up right away. It takes a few minutes before it keeps on spinning.

I hope I can get these temps lower. I really want to see how much it will help my score in 3dmark06. The first time I got a little over 11,000.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Apparently the dot method is best for single and dual cored CPU's and the line method is best for quad cores.

But it does make since as I saw decreased temps when switching between the two methods.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 10:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: want to start overclocking

Okay, I will try the line method and hopefully my temps will come down. Hopefully I do it either tomorrow or the weekend. Seems like to me the line method would be too much.

Could someone explain how I go about overclocking? Do I need to go into the bios? My mobo came with a program called EasyTune5 Pro and it looks like I can overclock it from there without going into the bios.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: want to start overclocking

go into your bios all yu have to do is up your fsb your chip has a multiplier of 9x so calculate what fsb u would need to have 3ghz. try and boot if it doesnt work u boost ur cpu vcore a tincy bit by no more then 0.05 volts at a time. until it boots and is stable.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: want to start overclocking

don't use EasyTune... its terrible, bios oc's are the best because they are stable and directly oc the CPU... when you startup your PC, the OC will be applied, with EasyTune its tied to the program/windows

anyways, overclock until you reach ~70C

amd is wrong... theres no point in not overclocking if you below ~70C... unless you need to use crazy volts (1.6+ since it lowers your CPU's life span by a lot)
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC hard to start and freezing Mike9182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-26-2007 07:35 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Where and when did overclocking start and by whom? krazyq Overclocking and Modding 1 09-06-2007 04:09 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.