want to overclock - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2010, 12:27 AM   #31 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: want to overclock

ok here is what I did today:

Step 5:
FSB-225
CPU-3037
CPU NB Ratio x9=2025
Ram Ratio 1:1.66=749
HT Link Speed x9=2025
TEST LinX 25m- PASSED

Step 6:
FSB-230
CPU-3105
CPU NB Ratio x8=1840
Ram Ratio 1:1.66=765
HT Link Speed x8=1840
TEST Prime95 1 1/2 hr- PASSED

I could still use a little help understanding HW monitor temps. I read somewhere that core temp is not actually CPU temp. It is one of the TMPIN temps, im just not sure what they all are or which is the core. Can anyone help here, its really bothering me and im out of ideas how to find this info. My HWmonitor does not have a readme.txt either.
Thanks all
__________________

mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 12:38 AM   #32 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: want to overclock

so far so good now would you kindly put up your hwmonitor shot
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 12:51 AM   #33 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: want to overclock

here is AMD overdrive. TMPIN2 is what im worried about. I just read something saying on MSI boards it is the chipset temp. IM WORRIED LOL also even at idle the temp does not go below 100c


Here is HWmonitor, TMPIN2 same temp im worried about, plus I guess TMPIN0 is the CPU not the core. That has been doing good. Last stress I monitored that number and it got to 39C at load
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 01:13 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: want to overclock

TMPIN1 is your thermal censor on your motherboard for your CPU. 116c is WAYYYY too high. If I were you I'd feel the heatsink with your hand. Is it really freakin' hot?
Then again maybe it's your northbridge. I'm not sure. Either way it's way the **** too high

17c core doesn't make much sense either. I think those values are wrong.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 02:19 AM   #35 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: want to overclock

There's no way he'd be running stable with those temps so they have to be wrong.
If Rich is right which he usually is, I would say take tmpin one add 10-15c and thats going to roughly be your core temp but there is something funky with all your sensors so its hard to figure out what to believe and what not to.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-18-2010, 09:10 PM   #36 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: want to overclock

what is the thermal sensor heatsink,the NB?

I know these numbers have to be wrong. My **** would melt or burn out at that temp. The thing is it changes but not by much, and if im going to look out for that magic 60c on my CPU temp I need correct ones or its all for not.

Every program shows these temps, so either my mobo is broken and none of the sensors work or something is crazy wrong. Who can I ask or who would you guys ask for the answers?
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 12:48 AM   #37 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: want to overclock

Check for drivers for your cpu and mobo.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 01:10 AM   #38 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: want to overclock

it says my drivers are up to date.
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 01:24 AM   #39 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: want to overclock

I'm really at a loss on what to do possibly post something in hardware troubleshooting see if anyone has ideas.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-19-2010, 01:35 AM   #40 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: want to overclock

ok man. I appreciate all your help. I am up to 3.2Ghz OC now. CPU Is running fine but then again my temps under load are a mystery.
__________________

mattk1045 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your best overclock? Deathawk Overclocking and Modding 6 02-25-2007 09:38 AM
overclock the 3000+ Venice or a new cpu to overclock? CorNut New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-11-2005 07:38 PM
overclock p4 3.06 contry Overclocking and Modding 10 05-15-2005 01:09 AM
overclock?!... SteveGTA Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-24-2005 01:13 PM
how far can i overclock? rcsavageboy Overclocking and Modding 30 04-18-2005 09:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.