voodoo Oc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2005, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default voodoo Oc

I have a couple of questions/concerns I overclocked my voodoo 5500 to 220Mhz the stock is 166. First I heard these cards can only reach 190Mhz why 220 for me? Next It is 64mb but under properties, settings,advanced,adapters. it says 32mb. So is it only reading the first GPU because 32mb is allocated to each processor so is that why I says 32mb insead of 64mb. Also I am not using the original drivers I am using voodoo overclocker 1.2.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

install the original drivers first w/ 3dfx tools then install a 3rd party OCer. w/ 3dfx tools it will detect both gpus and all of the ram and you wont beable to oc over 190. BTW do you have stock cooling on those chips?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Yes I do. So right now am i use both gpus ore one?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

wel i would back those clocks down if your really at 220. and your prolly not using 2 at the moment.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

odd enough things do run less choppy on certain games.That is odd since i am using one gpu at the moment.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

ok are you using windows XP? casue that card really is for ME.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

yes I have XP.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

hmm ok, have you looked for any drivers that where written for XP? i think i can find some for oyu casue i have a 5500 as well and have some XP drivers. But the OC prgram should be third party.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i searched on google and ran across an old ariticle about the 5500 it's original drivers can overclock it.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

yea thast what i was saying. the original 3dfx tools can OC it and has it built in. but they dont support windows XP (or the other way around). so oyu gotta make do w/ some XP drivers and a 3rd party OCer that will detect both GPUs
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.